Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Bringing these tomorrow to a holiday office potluck. I tripled the recipe, substituted onion powder and flakes for the onions, added garlic powder and Italian seasoned breadcrumbs to the meatballs, which I baked for approx. 15 min. They will marinate overnight in the fridge (in the crock pot) and hopefully soak up even more of the wonderful sweet/tangy flavors I couldn't resist trying out tonight! Thanks for a quick and easy crowd-pleaser (I'm hoping.....!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This recipe is also great with cocktail hot dogs and kielbasa. I've never added the lemon juice though,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is a recipe that I have used for many, many years and actually have just been recently handing it out again to new friends! It is the easiest, quickest recipe and is a *go-to* for me. I love the review that suggests switching the cranberry sauce for the grape jelly - I'm going to try that using turkey meatballs for the Holiday Season! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickpea
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Awesome stuff! Made these for a party & everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was the best meatball recipe. I used 1.5kg of meat, 2 cups grape jelly and 2 cups of sweet chili sauce. I needed to add 2 cups breadcrumbs for the meatballs to stick together. I found there to be too much onion as well, even with 1.5kg of meat. But the results were fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. At four hours, my meatballs (about 1" across) were dried out. Also, the glaze was watery and really didn't stick to the meat at all. For this to work, the cooking time needs to be at least an hour shorter, and the sauce thicker. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was soo good! The first time I made it, I listened to other reviews and reduced the jelly by 3/4 cup.It tasted okay but didn't fit my taste buds. The next time I made it, I did exactly as the recipe stated. It was a whole lot better! Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Really really good. Will def make again. I had frozen meatballs and used homemade grape jelly and it was just great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I served this for 30 hungry College kids at a party at my home and they LOVED it. So simple but so good. I doubled the recipe and it was great. Gave this recipe to my mom this morning. Teriffic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States