Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this for our super bowl party. It was the first dish to be totally gone. Everybody loved them and asked for the recipe. Thanks Tammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Made for Super Bowl and these were AWESOME! The grape flavor was a little strong but in all fairness I didn't measure it I just dumped 2/3 of the container in. To compensate I added vinegar to cut the sweetness and some ketchup. Also added a small can of pineapple chunks. Had with some rice but would prefer with egg noodles. Will try next time with green and red peppers. Thanks for sharing...definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I added ginger to the meat balls and omited the chili sauce and jelly and served the meat balls with chinnese sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Made this for the family and they loved it. I read other reviews and liked some of the suggestions, such as added the pineapples and cooking with egg noodles...AWESOME...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
ok I followed the directions, including the 4 to 5 hrs on high in a crock pot. Bad mistake, they were burnt beyond being able to eat. The only thing I can say is I tasted them about 2 hrs in and they tasted good then, so tonight I am trying this recipe again. But will not cook as long or as high temp as 1st time. I will not trust leaving them alone just because they are in a crock pot. I gave this a 3 star just because I liked what i tasted initially, but in following the recipe the cooking time was off. I will post again after today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
More spicy than sweet and sour. I added onions, green peppers and pineapple to the sauce... Still way more Mexican flavored than sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolshades21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was very good, mostly sweet though. I will definately make them again ,it was soo easy. I was lazy and used premade meat balls and let them sit over night in the sauce to soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Sorry, these were not very good. Meatballs were too dry, the sauce was way too sweet! I will not make again and will stick w/store bought ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Sorry, I did not like how the meatballs were swimming in fat after cooking. This made me throw away the sauce. This is unfortunate because it was probably good. I will try this recipe again by first baking the meatballs to get rid of the unecessary grease and then using the crockpot with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Awesome recipe, used frozen meatballs for the neighbours potluck, and they turned out great. I doubled the batch to be sure there was enough and they were all gone! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States