Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Made a double batch of these for a cocktail party. Bake frozen meatballs according to directions, stir up sauce on the stove, combine. Served in a crockpot, refilled from a pot on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I did not like this recipe at all! Meatballs were tasteless (I noticed the "rave reviews" used frozen store bought meatballs, might be better). The sauce got really thick & sticky fast & just did not like the flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I made this using the meatballs from the BBQ Glazed Homemade Meatballs recipe because I could tell that the ones in this recipe would be really plain. The sauce part and the crock pot method I did follow though :) My slight change was to pour about 1/4 of the sauce into my 4 quart crock pot, add a layer of meatballs, drizzle with another 1/4 of the sauce, top with the rest of the meatballs, and pour the rest of the sauce on top. This way I didn't have to stir and my meatballs remained intact. They were fully cooked after 3 1/2 hours so I removed the lid, stirred, and let it cook with the lid off for half an hour while I prepared the rest of the dinner. It was really runny at first but after letting some of the liquid cook off, the sauce had the perfect consistency!! And it tastes really great, too. You'd never think it's only jelly and chili sauce. I made this once before on the stove ("Cocktail Meatballs I") and we weren't huge fans, the sauce was really strong and really sweet. The sauce is definitely better when made in the crock pot for some reason. And a great way to use up jelly if you have lots of it like we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
WOW!!! These got sucked right up!!!! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mroop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Have made this recipe several times and it is delicious. Instead of making the meatballs myself, I add one half bag of italian meatballs (Kirkland brand) and cook on low for 3.5-4 hours. The last time I made this recipe I was short 1/4 cup of grape jelly, and the batch actually turned out MUCH better than previous as it was slightly less sweet and the flavor of the chili sauce was more prevalent, which all preferred. Will make it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Just made these and LOVE em! I didn't have a problem with the meatballs falling apart at all. They taste great. I wouldn't call them spicy per se, just a perfect tasting meatball. They're really easy to make. We're having meatball subs tonight but I think they'd be great in spaghetti too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is the same recipe my mom has been making my whole life, minus the lemon juice and it's such an amazing recipe! She always made for them parties and I have also for showers etc, they are amazing! I'm saving this one and try with the lemon juice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Domines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this for our super bowl party. It was the first dish to be totally gone. Everybody loved them and asked for the recipe. Thanks Tammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Made for Super Bowl and these were AWESOME! The grape flavor was a little strong but in all fairness I didn't measure it I just dumped 2/3 of the container in. To compensate I added vinegar to cut the sweetness and some ketchup. Also added a small can of pineapple chunks. Had with some rice but would prefer with egg noodles. Will try next time with green and red peppers. Thanks for sharing...definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I added ginger to the meat balls and omited the chili sauce and jelly and served the meat balls with chinnese sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States