Sweet-and-Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I came to all recipes wanting a sweet-and-sour meatball recipe and this is the only one to pop up and I was nervous since it had no rating and I'm really glad I tried it. It was awesome and very simple to make. I followed the recipe step by step. I will definitely be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Wonderful! I made this tonight for dinner. Quick, easy and very tasteful. The kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This recipe was FANTASTIC!! I thought my husband wouldn't like sweet and sour meatballs, but I couldn't resist making them because the recipe looked too good to pass up...and he loved it!! It's a favorite of ours, and it's really good cuz it's soooo easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This turned out delicious! I didn't use the whole can of pineapple chunks; the taste was still outstanding. In addition to cooking the meatballs in an oiled pan, I also baked them for extra crunchiness. Served with spiced rice, this recipe will go in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Absolutely fantastic! When I told my husband what I was making, he gave me an "okaaaay" kind of look, and could tell he was kind of nervous about it. As I was making it, he kept commenting on how great it smelled. And obviously it tasted even better, because in a matter of minutes it was all gone. I hadn't realized I'd be feeding my nephews and niece when I started making it, otherwise I would have made more. I used italian bread crumbs, since that's what I had and it was great. I use organic coconut oil a lot, so next time, I think I'm going to try it with that. This is wonderful, I can't wait to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
WOW!! We just got done eating this for dinner and it was fantastic! My husband and two year old loved it as well. So easy to make! I did add a few items...I added some dry bread crumbs to the meat and mixed red bell pepper and onions wirh the green pepper. You've gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I have made this recipe twice now following the directions to a T. It's WONDERFUL! Don't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I made a TRIPLE batch of this yummy dish. Some items were simply tripled. But, I reduced the vinager instead of putting 1 1/2 cups, I just put 1 cup in it. Then I increased the chicken broth to not 3 but 4 cups. I also increased the pinapple juice to not 1 1/2 cups but 2 cups. and the last adjustment I made was I had 3 large green peppers and one large red pepper. it was fantastic. I was serving 20 people, and some are very picky about sweet & sour, not liking the strong vinager taste. This pleased them all and even the most picky had second helpings. OPPS, I forgot to mention, I didn't use this recipe for the meatballs, instead I used a meatloaf recipe, it has italian sausage, and that also uses dry hot wheat cereal and not bread crumbs. the wheat cereal soaks in much more moisture, making the meatballs far yummier. one thing for sure, after trying many different meatloaf meatball recipes, i'm only making them with the wheat cereal from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was great. Just like my grandma used to make and I couldn't find her recipe anywheres. I did double the amount of sauce since it goes so great with the rice. Next time I wouldn't make quite so much sauce. I also added some chopped green onions to the meatball mix and I used my electric frying pan to make this. Really great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We love this recipe at our house, and I follow it to a T. It always comes out perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States