Sweet and Sour Jam - Not Just for Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The perfect compliment to all sorts of meats, and great on a fruit salad, Samosas, egg rolls, and cheeze n crackers. We've even had this on Goat - yes goat. We like more heat so I've added 2 Jalapenos, 2 Habaneros, 1/2 C chopped cilantro. My experiment with tripling the recipie was a very loose set. I've made this with peaches, in a pinch canned crushed pineapple (well drained) and I omit the brown sugar. MMMmmmmmm the house still smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystine Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My mom's been looking for a company she got a peach jalapeno jam from for years and one taste of this and she more than happy to have me make this recipe instead. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I loved this recipe. So easy to make and delicious. Trying it with peaches also. Did not add all of the sugar only 4 cups and still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osoyoos, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Very good but little too sweet for my taste. Probably cut with a little rice vinegar as a previous poster had suggested and use for sweet and sour chicken. Mine didn't set and was syrupy but okay for a chicken glaze or over cream cheese with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Just finished canning a batch of this and it's amazing. I was determined to get it made this weekend, and of course I couldn't find fresh apricots, so I substituted pluots and the store had no habanero peppers, so I used jalapeno and a couple pinches of crushed red pepper. Have some in a bowl cooling in the fridge to put on cream cheese. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Will make this recipe over and over. My kids loved it, and we even shared some jars with neighbours who now think I am the MASTER of canning! :-) I did do one recipe with the addition of 1 Cup sweet cherries, cut and pitted, and upped the pineapple to 1Cup. I felt safe doing that as both additions are acidic. Please remember when canning, that acidity levels are crucial to safety, so it is dangerous to change recipes meant for canning. In any event, the addition was perfect. I have cut, measured and frozen Apricots and Cherries which are seasonal items here in S. Ontario, and put them in freezer bags to keep for off season preparation of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is soooo incredibly good! I didn't make it myself -- my best friend canned this (using peaches) and sent me a few jars. I served them with baked chicken nuggets. I did find I had to cut the jam with rice wine vinegar to get it a bit thinner and a touch less sweet, but I'm sure that just depends on what you're using it for. This is absolutely fantastic, the only thing that could possibly improve it would be some heat :) Thanks for the recipe, mis7up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
What a great reciepe, everyone I've shared this with is hooked, whether its spread over cream cheese and eaten with crackers or on salmon and chicken, its a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I have "tons" of ripe Apriums and thought I would give this recipe a try. We think it's fabulous, but could use a little more "heat" for our taste. Also, next batch I'll thinly slice the shallots and then quarter the slices. I didn't like the way they appeared "stringy" when ladling the jam into the jars. After filling all the jars I couldn't wait to lick the spoon, LOL. I can't wait to try this on either the chicken or meatballs. Thanks for such a creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe. We use it on chicken drumettes off the grill. Need to make more next time. Does anyone know if I can double the recipe and still get this to firm up?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States