Sweet and Sour Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
These were sooooo good! Between the salt in the bacon and in the canned green beans, I eliminated the tsp. from the recipe. Other than that, I didn't change a thing and we all agreed that this was a very tasty side that I will certainly make again. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Yum, this is a great recipe. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENNEDY5976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Great!!!! A favorite. Made a few changes. Used frozen green beans because I hate the canned taste. Used balsamic vinegar insted of apple cider vinegar and added some white wine. also since im an ex-smoker(after 17 years) I need alitle more seasonings for my taste so I used Seasoned salt and a few dashes of garlic powder. AWSOME This has become a much requested family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJBEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Very good green beans...gonna make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Excellent! I have a variation of these every year for Christmas Dinner, and they didn't last long today. This version is a keeper. My hubby wonders why we don't have these more often (me too). The only change I made was no additional salt (I figured the bacon had enough) and a dash of Accent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVINGNOZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Great recipe!! This is my favorite green bean recipe. For a short-cut, you can buy S&W Dilled Green Beans, just add bacon and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Very good recipe. I poured the lequid ingredience and the bacon/onion/flour mixture over the green beans and baked them - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA_LUSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
No beans about it.... these are simply the best green beans. I did use more bacon and less onion to suit my family's pallette. My son who is not a veggie person devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
my family loved this treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States