Sweet and Sour Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I loved these. I used fresh beans and boiled them and saved water for the recipe as called for. Was tasty and I love to find a good side dish since I always can pick a good main course but always seem to stumble with what to prepare with it. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Great!!!! A favorite. Made a few changes. Used frozen green beans because I hate the canned taste. Used balsamic vinegar insted of apple cider vinegar and added some white wine. also since im an ex-smoker(after 17 years) I need alitle more seasonings for my taste so I used Seasoned salt and a few dashes of garlic powder. AWSOME This has become a much requested family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJBEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
These were sooooo good! Between the salt in the bacon and in the canned green beans, I eliminated the tsp. from the recipe. Other than that, I didn't change a thing and we all agreed that this was a very tasty side that I will certainly make again. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love these beans! I use a very similar recipe, although it has a scant cup of sugar and no salt and pepper. After cooking the liquid until thickened, I add the green beans and sprinkle bacon on top, then bake at 350 until it is bubbly. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Marion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
MMMMM! I used frozen green beans instead of canned. If you like that sweet and sour flavor you will love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
WOW - this was wonderful!! I used blanched and frozen green beans from last year's garden and tossed in a tomato and some sliced mushrooms that needed to be eaten. What a great way to eat green beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Great recipe!! This is my favorite green bean recipe. For a short-cut, you can buy S&W Dilled Green Beans, just add bacon and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Nice flavor, definitely spot on. I accidentally added 2 tbsp flour, but thinned out with a little water after I uploaded the picture (the sauce won't be as thick as it appears on the photo). Quick side dish using canned veggies, reminiscent of old-fashioned down-home green beans. Really good weeknight dish. UPDATE 1-30-12 Made these again tonight. Talk about the great imposter...who would know these came out of a can??? Just really like this side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
LOVE these! I am always looking for a way to spice up green beans because my husband will only eat them if they have plenty of flavor. Added some garlic and a pinch of Italian seasoning. Also used balsamic vinegar since I had it in the pantry, and used brown sugar because I thought it lends itself to the smoky taste of the bacon and the flavor of this dish. It was DELICIOUS! My new favorite green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Wonderful. Just the right blend of sweet and sour. I used fresh green beans and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States