Sweet and Sour Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Nice flavor, definitely spot on. I accidentally added 2 tbsp flour, but thinned out with a little water after I uploaded the picture (the sauce won't be as thick as it appears on the photo). Quick side dish using canned veggies, reminiscent of old-fashioned down-home green beans. Really good weeknight dish. UPDATE 1-30-12 Made these again tonight. Talk about the great imposter...who would know these came out of a can??? Just really like this side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
really good with chicken i used frozen green beans and cut the cider vinegar in half since i was making this with honey mustard chicken which is already kind of sour. excellent change up for green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
WOW - this was wonderful!! I used blanched and frozen green beans from last year's garden and tossed in a tomato and some sliced mushrooms that needed to be eaten. What a great way to eat green beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
LOVE these! I am always looking for a way to spice up green beans because my husband will only eat them if they have plenty of flavor. Added some garlic and a pinch of Italian seasoning. Also used balsamic vinegar since I had it in the pantry, and used brown sugar because I thought it lends itself to the smoky taste of the bacon and the flavor of this dish. It was DELICIOUS! My new favorite green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made this for dinner last night, along with a slow cooker pot roast, mashed potatoes and glazed carrots. My son and his friend kept raving about the green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I also used frozen beans instead of the canned beans.... Loved the flavor, but think I may kick up the vinegar next time I make and there definitely will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Looks terrible, tastes amazing! used fresh green beans and turkey bacon. Added a little white wine to the flour part as there wasn't much grease from the turkey bacon. These will definetly become a weeknight veggie staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Quick, easy, tastey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Wonderful. Just the right blend of sweet and sour. I used fresh green beans and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
These were yummy! Everyone at the party raved!! I used frozen green beans and doubled the sauce!! Added a tad more vinegar than called for. Taste as you go along and adjust to your liking. When I added it to the beans it kinda lost it's punch. That's why I added a bit more. It does remind me a lot of german potato salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States