Sweet And Sour Glazed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe. My husband loves it. I made a few changes to make it a little heathier. Instead of Russian dressing I used a raspberry vinegerette preferably one with splenda. I also use a entire jar of apricot preserves also the sugar free variety with Splenda. This helps lower the amount of sugar in the recipe and cuts out a lot of calories and fat that is in the Russian dressing. I think it tastes better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
I make this recipe all of the time, but I only use one envelope of Lipton Onion Soup Mix and I use boneless chicken breasts. I have grown up on this recipe since I was a little girl. I love the sauce over my chicken and my rice. My whole family loves it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I prepared this for a group and it was just wonderful! I cooked the chicken overnight in the crock pot then put it all together the next morning. I only used one soup envelope and one cup of pineapple preserves along with two small bottles of the Russian dressing. It made the most wonderful glaze. I will add this to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I grew up on a similar rendition of this recipe and it's one of my kids favorites today. I use boneless breasts and mix 1 package dry onion soup, 1 bottle russian dressing, 1 jar apricot preserves and 1 jar pineapple preserves. I use 6 - 8 chicken breasts, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This was horrible. The taste was extremely bland. The sauce became too thin during cooking.The presentation was very poor. I would not use as much Russian dressing, more apricot preserves, and double the dry onion soup mix. Also, I would probably throw in garlic, onions, and some curry/ginger, and maybe some soy sauce. I really don't know. I do know this is not a fix again for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
my mom made this recipe every week when i was growing up in the oven. the chicken was always too dry- I tried it in a slow cooker and it came out MUCH better. if you still want to bake the chicken I recommend putting foil over the pan for all but the last 2 minutes. this will help keep the moisture in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is okay, especially for kids. You can toss in pineapple chunks, too. For adults, a little bit of crushed red pepper flakes makes it less bland and similar to a dish at PF Chang's. Easy to keep ingredients in the pantry. Serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I have made this many times, usually with boneless breasts and just 1 packet of onion soup mix. Recently tried substituting can of cranberry sauce for apricot preserves tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I used this recipe to prepare a great quick supper. Instead of russian dressing I used French dressing. I served it with some orzo and it was a smashing success- with my husband, at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Easy, quick and delicious. I used 3 lbs of skinless bone-in chicken thighs. Also followed an earlier suggestion and covered with foil for first 30 minutes, then uncovered for balance of cooking time. Result was very flavorful and moist chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States