Sweet And Sour Glazed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I can't believe I discovered this recipe on this site. I've been enjoying this delicious chicken dish for over 50 years. My mother made it often. The sauce will thicken nicely if baked at least part of the time uncovered. Great family dish and good enough for guests! This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is a variation of a recipe I make all the time. When I make it I use 8 oz of Catalina style dressing, a can of whole cranberry sauce and an envelope of onion soup mix for the sauce. I usually make chicken cutlets so we don't have to struggle with bones, which can be messy in a dish like this. Everyone I have ever made it for just loves it. To Tayl5286 I'd say two things: -Use an entire evelope of onion soup mix. You'll get far more flavor. -While this is a "wet" not "creamy" sauce, I know from baking experience that some brands of jams and preserves have less substance than others. Try using different brands until you find one that melts down to a consistency that you like. This is a quick, great family meal that makes a nice enough presetation for company. I've even served it at a buffet dinner by cutting the chicken into bite size pieces before I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years. To get the best tasting sauce you need to use Dark (red) Russian Dressing. Can be hard to find, I usually find it in smaller grocery stores. I use 1 small bottle dark Red Russian Dressing, 2 envelopes onion soup mix, i jar 18oz apricot preserves and any combination of chicken pieces. Pour over chicken, cover with foil, bake 45 min, uncover baste and bake 15 min. This is a huge hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I have made a version of this recipe for many years and it has become a family favourite.To cut down on salt I use fresh finely chopped onion instead of the soup mix. I have always used chicken breasts and so do not need to cook it as long as chicken with the bone. It has always turned out moist and tender - we serve it on rice with a salad on the side for a complete meal - yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I have also been making this for years and have yet to have it glaze the chicken. It is a good flavor and good over rice and easy so I guess that outweighs not having the glaze on the chicken. Any suggestions anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I have been making this same dish for years, too. Everyone loves it. One slight difference that I do is that I mix the dressing, preserves and soup in a poy and heat to boiling. I let the mixture cool to room temperature, then add the chicken and let it marinate in the refrigerator overnight. Everything comes out nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waldo Jeffers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years. The family loves it. It surely is a winner. It also goes by the name Delicious Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Great recipe! And is there room for a chuckle? I think it's amazing that h2odancerqt spent her childhood growing up in the oven (if I read her comment correctly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I have been making this recipe for almost 50 years. 2 boxes of onion soup mix is way too much. Bake uncovered if the sauce is too thin, or just thicken the sauce with a slurry (flour or cornstarch). My family loved the extra sauce over rice or noodles. I only use thighs because breast meat is too dry. I also make extra to freeze for another day. My DH and children (when they lived at home) liked this dish better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
my mom made this recipe every week when i was growing up in the oven. the chicken was always too dry- I tried it in a slow cooker and it came out MUCH better. if you still want to bake the chicken I recommend putting foil over the pan for all but the last 2 minutes. this will help keep the moisture in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States