Sweet And Sour Glazed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Made these last night with fresh fried broccoli and rice to serve it on with a side of Best Egg Rolls from this site. Used boneless chicken breasts instead of a cut up chicken, put it in the crock pot, and cut back to 1 pack of onion soup. Close to the end it would take your breath if you tried smelling it due to the onion still overpowering it so I added a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar. Helped some but I think next time I'll add the pineapple everyones talking about and see if it helps or completely eliminate the onion soup. Overall great meal just need to tweak it to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
My family likes dark meat so I use the same basic recipe with skinless chicken thighs . Comes out moist and juicy every time, falls right off the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Delicious! My husband and I both loved this sauce. We actually made chicken meatballs, browned them on both sides, then added the sauce and let it cook for about 30 minutes. Served over rice and we both devoured it. It sounds like a strange mix of ingredients but the end product was great! Also, we added just a few shakes of red pepper flakes, gave it a little kick but not to much. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
The chicken wasn't overly flavorful but I enjoyed it. I don't know if I'll make it again, but it's a decent and relatively easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
We have made this in our family for years...the only difference is we use fresh sliced onions instead of soup mix. This is so yummy you will be spooning the sauce over bread...yumm! You MUST use the wishbone russian dressing..not a vinagrette. Also if using boneless chicken make sure to keep basting so they don't dry out or just turn them over frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Could not be any eaiser and ends up tasting terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
By far the easiest and hands down best recipe on this site. Everyone will love it and think you are a Top Chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Great recipe! I only used one pkg of onion soup mix. I did everything else just like recipe called for and it was a hit for kids and husband. Will deffintly make a gain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The meal is a success in our house if we can get the kids to eat it, and they did! I will be making this again! After reading some of the reviews, I only used 1 package of the onion soup mix, and added pineapple preserves and crushed red pepper too. Maybe would have been even better with more pineapple in it! Also, I boiled the chicken so it wouldn't dry out and then oven cooked it for the last 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! I use it all the time! The sauce is amazing poured over rice too. I did make a couple of changes to it though. I use boneless chicken breasts and to the sauce I add, pineapple chunks, brown sugar, and soy sauce! It is so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States