Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is a new fav! Did as others suggested and halved the sugar and added honey, red pepper flakes and cornstarch.Fried the chicken for 30 minutes and then baked with sauce at 400 for another 15 min turning once. They were a bit too sticky an runny so I popped them back in the sizzling frying pan for another 5 minutes. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this with the suggestions of other reviewers and they turned out amazing. I fried the drumettes as suggested, but I did change up the sauce a bit. I used 4 T soy sauce, 1/2 c sugar, 1/2 c honey, 3 T white vinegar, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and a couple pinches of red pepper flakes. I poured the sauce over the chicken and baked it for 30 minutes. The skin on the drumettes turned out crispy, but the meat was so juicy and tender. I served it with fried rice and broccoli. Yummy! I'm looking forward to making this one again. BTW - the sauce is really good over fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This meal is going to be part of my regular rotation. I could not believe that such a short recipe yielded such an AMAZING meal! I doubled the recipe so I could use it for chicken drumsticks instead of drumettes. In the future I will turn the chicken halfway through cooking to make sure it is completely covered in the delicious sauce. It was a big hit with my children, ages 18 months through 9 years - my normally picky daughter asked for more, as did my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I used half sugar and half honey on other reviewers' suggestions. I also used Panko (Japanese bread crumbs) instead of flour. My biggest issue with this recipe was that the legs kept "bleeding." (I made it for company and couldn't serve it the first time!) The second time I made it, I even soaked the legs in ice water for quite some time, but still, when I cooked it, there was visible blood on half the pieces. The taste is good, and I think I will make it again. But I will use breasts (even though I know that will change the taste), and I will thicken the sauce with corn starch or flour and brush it on instead, as per another reviewer's suggestion. By the recipe, it ended up nice and crispy where I had fried it, but then soggy at the bottom, where the sauce had accumulated in the bottom of the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Very salty! If I made this again I'd cut down on the soy and add pineapple juice instead sugar. It's not that I won't try it again, but I am going to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This recipe is delicious. One of my husband's favorites :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was delicious...my kids love this dish. I didn't use vinegar for my sauce, but added teriyaki, and sweet & sour sauce. I've already made this twice and plan on making it again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEECHIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
A bit too sweet for us. I had even cut out some of the sugar. Didn't have much sour taste either, just sweet. Also, the flour coating was nice and crisp out of the pan, but once out of the oven, it was soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I have been using my mother in laws sweet and sour recipe for the last 10 years. Well that was until I decided to try this one. This is SO easy and tastes just the same as her complicated need to boil for 20 mins recipe. I added cornstarch and heated it in a pot on the stove to thicken, then poured over cooked meatballs. My very picky husband gave it two thumbs up. Definitely have updated my recipe box with this gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Made this last night for dinner. It was fairly easy to make and little ingredients needed. I suggest to use smaller drumsticks or wings. Using larger drumsticks won't allow the sauce to bake threw as well. Very good thou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsmittyyy
Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States