Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
These wings are addicting. And now this family's favorite chicken wing. After frying the wings, I transfered them to a 350 oven to really crisp up, added cornstarch to the sauce to make a thick glaze, basted the wings, turned them and turned the oven down to 250; basted the other side and let them finish for about 10 mins. You can baste them repeatedly depending on how much glaze you have left. The taste of the glaze is awesome (I added crushed garlic) and the crisp coating of the wings under it makes them even better. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
The sauce was so good! I was really pleased with it. I was a little skeptical about some of the ingredients, but don't worry.. they're awesome together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookymonster
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kahului, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Oh my goodness! I made this recipe two nights ago, my family LOVED IT! The smell is so good, the taste is delightful! Sweet, yet tangy. I added a bit more pepper and some green onions/fennel on top to give it a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AestheticSolace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was super! I removed the skin on drumsticks to make it a little less fattening. I doubled up on the sauce and used it to cook some shrimp in...yummy! Next time I'll make a rice to pour this over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
this recipe was truly tasty. I made it exactly the way as stated. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I never tasted a "sour". There was just the right amount of sweet and it perfectly melded with the breading. I am going to try these on the grill next time with just the sauce. Make lots of rice because the sauce is so tasty you will be eating it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Pretty good. Next time I'll make it with a better section of meat, though. Breast or thigh would be better than legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaShea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Very tasty, I loved it! I added a 2 teaspoons of sweet chili sauce to the sauce to add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These are fine; however, 30 minutes is not quite enough in my oven. I reduced the amount of sugar to 2/3 cup and increased vinegar to 2/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very tasty. Doubled the sauce to have more for the rice. Boys thoroughly enjoyed it. Modified recipe so it isn't so sweet. Follow footnotes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashandcamsmom
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This sauce was wonderful! I did not bread or fry the chicken as the recipe states instead i baked them skin on and used the sauce as a glaze. I doubled the sauce. I did marinate for about an hour like someone else with half the sauce. The other half I placed in a pot and cooked on the stove adding corn starch to thicken which made the chicken sticky and just yummy! I have also used the sauce on cubed chicken breast which i did coat in flour and fry..yummy over rice... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashandcamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States