Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Excellent recipe! My picky eaters gobbled it up and asked for more. The first time I made it exactly as written but next time I added some asian sweet chili sauce and ground pepper/garlic mixture for added kick.As well I used 1/3 cup Apple Cider vinegar as we had run out of regular. It was fabulous - a very happy accident.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamaiCanadian foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Here are some changes I made to the recipe as suggested by others who have tried this recipe previously. I used about 1/3 cup of white sugar instead of 1 cup and I added 1/3 cup of honey, 1 tbl of cornstarch, (many people were saying how the sauce was not thick enough & were suggesting the honey and cornstarch to thicken it) & 1 tsp of red pepper flakes. I also did not use any water. My kids loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were so delicious! I have never made drumsticks before and wow! I made drumsticks and thighs. I didn't want to heat up the house with the oven so I wrapped them in foil and cooked on the grill. YUM! Only two drumsticks were left over and I put them in the toaster oven to heat up for a snack the next day. Wish there had been more left over! Sauce was a little thin, next time I'll add a little more flour or cornstarch. There will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaleAnn82
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Totally rocked the kitchen last night with this recipe. I did as another reveiwer suggested and used half sugar/ half honey in place of the sugar. I added a couple of pressed garlic cloves and a couple of shakes of red pepper; omitted the water and added one tablespoon of cornstarch. Being as I was born and raised in Louisiana I deep fried my chicken until brown and then put it in the oven for 30 minutes; flipping chicken every ten minutes. It was awesome!!!! I served it with fried rice and oriental style veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Good but a little too sweet for me. I followed other's advice and added a little cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. Served with rice and wine and it made a tasty meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Terrific recipe; we all loved it. I followed others' suggestions and added cornstarch and hot chili sauce (Sriacha). I cooked the sauce ahead of baking to ensure it would thicken, and it did. It turned out perfect - nice and spicy with a bit of sweetness! I also used half honey and half sugar, and used red wine vinegar; I used chicken breast sliced into strips instead of drumettes. I served this with brown rice and stir fry vegetables. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was easy and lip smacking good! My 5 year old is is very picky and he has asked for this every day since the first time I made it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I didn't read the title right and I made this recipe with drumsticks and thighs and used it as a main course. It was fabulous with rice and chinese broccoli on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by workingmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
For a thicker sauce add a bit of corn starch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
AMAZING! i used brown sugar instead, because i didnt have white sugar and i added minced garlic and a squeez of lemon juice. Best chicken sauce ever. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States