Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very good! Doubled the sauce and thickened it with a quick rue. Family ate it up! Husband asked me what sauce did I buy. He was surpriesd that it was homemade. Such simple ingredients, such a yummy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Used the sauce for something else - waaaaaaaaaaay too sweet and liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
sooo good! i added a little bit of cayenne pepper and ginger to the sauce and it was delicious, i cooked it in the oven for 45 mins and it came out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
First time I always try these recipies exactly as written. This one was fantastic. I think the only change next time would be to add the cornstarch to the sauce as recommended by other reviewers so that more of that yummy sauce sticks right to the chicken. Thanks Ms. Chef for this easy yummy recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is a very good easy recipe. I had all the ingredients needed for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is a new fav! Did as others suggested and halved the sugar and added honey, red pepper flakes and cornstarch.Fried the chicken for 30 minutes and then baked with sauce at 400 for another 15 min turning once. They were a bit too sticky an runny so I popped them back in the sizzling frying pan for another 5 minutes. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this with the suggestions of other reviewers and they turned out amazing. I fried the drumettes as suggested, but I did change up the sauce a bit. I used 4 T soy sauce, 1/2 c sugar, 1/2 c honey, 3 T white vinegar, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and a couple pinches of red pepper flakes. I poured the sauce over the chicken and baked it for 30 minutes. The skin on the drumettes turned out crispy, but the meat was so juicy and tender. I served it with fried rice and broccoli. Yummy! I'm looking forward to making this one again. BTW - the sauce is really good over fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This meal is going to be part of my regular rotation. I could not believe that such a short recipe yielded such an AMAZING meal! I doubled the recipe so I could use it for chicken drumsticks instead of drumettes. In the future I will turn the chicken halfway through cooking to make sure it is completely covered in the delicious sauce. It was a big hit with my children, ages 18 months through 9 years - my normally picky daughter asked for more, as did my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I used half sugar and half honey on other reviewers' suggestions. I also used Panko (Japanese bread crumbs) instead of flour. My biggest issue with this recipe was that the legs kept "bleeding." (I made it for company and couldn't serve it the first time!) The second time I made it, I even soaked the legs in ice water for quite some time, but still, when I cooked it, there was visible blood on half the pieces. The taste is good, and I think I will make it again. But I will use breasts (even though I know that will change the taste), and I will thicken the sauce with corn starch or flour and brush it on instead, as per another reviewer's suggestion. By the recipe, it ended up nice and crispy where I had fried it, but then soggy at the bottom, where the sauce had accumulated in the bottom of the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Very salty! If I made this again I'd cut down on the soy and add pineapple juice instead sugar. It's not that I won't try it again, but I am going to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States