Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I used 1/3 C honey 1/3 C sugar 1/4 C vinegar 3 Tbsp cornstarch and 1 Tbsp of water. For some zing I added 1/2 Tsp of orange peel granules 1/8 Tsp of Chinese 5 spice and 1 Tbsp of chili garlic sauce to my sauce ingredients and simmered in a sauce pan. Not boiled just warmed up until all the sugar dissolved. I ended up Tripling the sauce said above since I used a whole bag of chicken drumettes and 1/2 a bag of chicken tenderloins...experimenting with boneless. It tastes so gooood! Its like dinner and dessert all in one! Like chicken waffles. I DIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
My family Loved it including a 3 year old! So simple but so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dora.7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I took beanie's advice and went with 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup honey, vinegar (no water), and chili-garlic sauce, and it turned out fantastic. I just wanted to add, however, that the sauce is still pretty thin, and you would do well to select cookware that is just barely large enough to hold the chicken and sauce--I chose a dish that gave the chicken some separation, and I ended up with a lot of blackened sauce at the bottom of the pan. Luckily, it was just barely caramelized and still tasted fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I should give ths one star because I am a small eater and I ate two portions! They are melt in your mouth good!!!! Don't let the ingredients fool you! When I read this recipe, I thought...what? Made it exactly as written using white vinegar cuz it didn't state and served it with my own recipe for chinese noodles and mixed veggies and omg!!!! Thank you Thank you Thank you for this fabulous recipe! :) Oh, and I did as another suggested and turned them over half way into baking. Myself, I wouldn't double sauce recipe unless perhaps you want to save it and use a third for this and have enough for two more dishes cuz I'm certainly making again. I had leftover sauce so if I doubled it, it would be enough for three dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Just finished eating this meal it was great! Made it exactly as instructed, wouldn't change anything. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jassyv50

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!!! Best chicken I've made in a long time! Thank you :) -- I made recipe exactly as it said too but had to cook chicken in oven an extra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Absolutley fantastic!! Super, super easy recipe to prepare / cook! I wouldn't change a thing - the only thing I didnt do was actually measure the flour - I just used what I thought was needed! YUMM :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Amazing!! I've made them twice already and each time they didnt last long at all. They taste great and are so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I absolutely love sweet and sour ... Based on the suggestions of others I left out the water and added corn starch to thicken up the sauce. I thought I put too much corn starch in, but obviously I didn't put enough. The sauce is still watery and once poured over the chicken doesn't stick to it .. just burns in the bottom of the pyrex dish. The chicken itself has very minimal flavor from the sauce since none of it stayed on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razz23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is an awsome recipe!!! I wasn't to sure about the vinegar,but all the ingredients blended well together. I made the mistake of putting the sauce together first in the baking dish. So, I poured it out, but some of the sugar was still on the bottom of the baking dish. After 15mins of cooking time, I turned the chicken and then finished the cooking. 2 thumps up!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States