Sweet and Sour Drumettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I made this, the only thing I did different was add some cornstarch to make the sweet and sour sauce a little thicker and didn't fry the chicken beforehand because I didn't have the time to do so, but my children and husband goobled it right up :) so thank you for this wonderful recipe!!! I have made it several times and each time it doesn't last long at all! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Emmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Landisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
What a solid sweet and sour sauce!! LOVED it!!! Went with one of the other suggested reviews and added cornstarch and also added a touch of sriracha sauce in the mix, cut up some red onion, pineapple, and squash and cooked it on the bottom of the dish soaking in the sauce, the perfect amount of heat and sweetness. This recipe is definitely one I will save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Very yummy sauce. Felt like there was an awful lot of sugar, but the taste was great. I cooked it longer than 30 minutes in the oven - more like 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
It was good but when i poured the sauce in the pan it had a lot left over and become really thick like a goo surrounding the chicken. Next time I'll leave some sauce to pour on the end. And brush the chicken with the sauce then midway cooking brush it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Excellent !! I wasn't expecting much when I decided to try this recipe. Prepared it exactly as written except that I reduced the sugar from 1 cup to 3/4 cup. It was so simple and turned out GREAT. It was a big hit with everyone -- definitely going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Easy and tasty. Boyfriend approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clayton
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have prepared this recipe twice, adding just a pinch of this or that, my grandmother taught me. I usually create a special dish to relieve my wife and make her feel super special as she is. So far allrecipes has been a winner for me . My recipe box grows. Now I bring my crafts from the shop to the kitchen loving them both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I love this recipe and use it often. I use chicken drumsticks to make it into a dinner. I skip the frying part, it is a lot of work and really not needed. The sauce is absolutely delicious! I serve it over white rice and pour the sauce over so the rice absorbs it. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingclinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I replaced water with sake, sugar to 1/4 honey, and as suggested, a bit of red pepper. It came out still too watery. The chicken's inside has no taste. I think the chicken would have been much better by marinated over night in soy sauce + ginger + sake over night as most asian chicken recipe calls. Chicken also needed to be turned several times to catch the watery sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
My family was totally torn on this one. I made it exactly as written and personally speaking, it's not worth the time you invest. I think it could be a lot better if you used something besides just flour to coat (think panko with a spicy kick) or heat up the sauce. Or both. To me it was overpoweringly sweet. My husband on the other hand, ate double servings. Even slathered the sauce onto the rice. I will be making this again, but with some adjustments... And probably chicken breast instead of the drumsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States