Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was very good and quick to whip up, we like big chunks of pineapple in ours and I added about a tspn of sweet soy sauce. Other than that this is a good tasting recipe and I've saved it to my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Easy with the perfect taste and consistency for my liking. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Very good. I followed the recipe but added more cornstarch to thicken it. I served it with fried rice and chicken strips. My husband loved it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Delish! Just the right balance of sweet to sour. I zipped it up with about a teaspoon red chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I was looking for a sweet and sour sauce recipe for my ribs when I saw this one. It looked fast and easy and it could be doctored if needed. It was wonderful, the thing different that I did was add about a half cup pineapple chunks left from kabobs and a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar as it was just a tad to sweet. This has been printed and saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Mine was the consistency of juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
not all that thick unless you use corn starch, but tastes a lot like the restaurants make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This recipe is kind of bland. We added more pineapple juice for a little bit less tang, pepper, and extra ketchup. Its obviously not as good as store bought, but it is an OK substitute in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
The flavor of this was really good. I had to triple this only because it really didn't make as much as I thought it would. Once I set it on the stove and brought it to a boil, it wouldn't thicken. I had to make a slurry of 1/4 c. extra pineapple juice and another tbsp. of cornstarch. With just under a half of the slurry, it thickened up to where we needed it. NOTE: Jillian was absolutely right. The rice wine vinegar is the one you want to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great dipping sauce! If you like more sweet than sour, use rice wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. I also like my sauces a little thicker, so I added a bit more cornstarch as the submitter suggested. If you want a richer color, add a couple drops of red food coloring - it works wonders. This stuff was great and my husband took one taste and all he could say was "Mmmmmmm". We ate this with egg rolls, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States