Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
A girl's got to do what a girl's got to do. hahaha... I used what I had at hand. Added 1/2 tsp cornstarch for the consistency I was looking for. Silly me I didn't have pineapple juice so I used the juice off the mandarin oranges. I substituted 1/4 tsp oil for sesame oil. I didn't have white vinegar so I used white wine vinegar. Guess I was in the mood for something spicy so I added chili garlic sauce. ...It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very tasty and easy. I prefer more tart so upped it to 1/2 cup rice vinegar. I wasn't sure why the oil, but next time I'll use coconut for additional sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolTyson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
needs to be thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
loved the recipe. Substituted half grapefruit juice half mango juice for pineapple juice because of an allergy. turned out lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
As is, this recipe is only okay to me. I definitely like my sweet and sour sauce to be more viscous (like you'd get at a Chinese take-out place) so it needs more cornstarch. It's also pretty vinegary, but that could be improved upon with either more pineapple juice and brown sugar OR using rice vinegar vs. plain white distilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie521

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
excellent . had to addd alot of extra cornstarch to make it thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Easy with ingredients I always have on hand. Great recipe and I will use this for many years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Served this with sweet and sour pork patties (made as meatballs) from this site (added ketchup, mustard, and worcestershire to the meatballs as one reviewer had suggested) roasted red peppers, pineapple chunks, and brown rice. Yummy and everyone loved it! Saving the left overs to eat with egg rolls tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
We really liked this dipping sauce. Perfect with egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I don't buy/have pineapple juice, so I drained a can of crushed pineapple, which provided more than enough. It's punchy, not cloyingly sweet like most jarred S&S sauce. This is a keeper. (I did add the additional cornstarch for a thicker sauce.) EDIT: I just realized I left out the oil... but it didn't need it, so I won't use it in the future, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States