Sweet and Sour Chicken Tenders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Excellent! I too cut the vinegar in half. I chunked the tenders and browned them. Made the sauce in a separate pan omitting the chicken broth and adding about 1/2 cup pineapple juice. When tenderes were browned, I added the sauce to the pan...the sauce thickened right up...wonderful over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made this tonight. Followed the directions; just doubled the sauce without doubling the vinegar (based on other reviews). Actually, it was a little to sweet for us! Just drizzled a few drops of lemon juice after it came out of the oven to fix that. Also, we didn't use the sauce after it came out of the oven. Just a personal preference. The sauce did keep the chicken nice and moist/juicy while cooking and definitely added great flavor. Will make again, but next time will use 3/4 of the vinegar instead of half. It has a very nice taste; perhaps pineapple would make this 5 stars?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Even the picky person liked it. A little extra sauce would be improve recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is a great recipe to satisfy that Chinese food craving without the grease and thickly battered meat pieces. I followed the recipe but differed in 2 things: (1) I doubled the sauce and (2) I topped the browned chicken with raw veggies before baking. We loved the sauce but we love vinegar, so the acidity was not an issue. We loved how tender the chicken was. And to have as much veggies as we wanted was great. Normally, Chinese restaurants will give minimal quantities of that. I used yellow onion, red bell pepper, carrots, and broccoli. I drizzled the sauce over all before baking for 35 mins. The veggies were not crisp, but they weren't mush either. They kept their color and shape. We spooned everything on top of steamed rice. This is a recipe I will repeat again and again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Always get asked for this recipe! So tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skwolford
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made this recipe and it's delicious! Actually that's my picture on the profile:) thanks all recipes:) I often get recipes from all recipes and this one tops the cake. I added some pineapple juice to the broth mixture and I cooked it on the stove first. Added some red peppers, yellow peppers and pineapple after cooking it for about 10 minutes and cooked it an additional 10 minutes just to steam them a little bit and it was phenomenal! Thanks again all recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was very tasty. I made it easier by doing it all in one pan-no oven. I cut the chicken tenderloins into roughly 2 inch chunks. After frying them up, I poured the sauce into the same pan and let it simmer uncovered for about 10 minutes, til cooked through. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
These were really good. I cut in pieces, dredged in the cornstarch, and stir fried. Meanwhile I made the sauce in a separate pan. I threw some pineapple chunks in with the chicken and a little of the sauce and browned, then I just threw in the sauce and stirred until it thickened. My go-to recipe for S & S from now on. I added some broccoli and carrots for veg. Mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
It was easy & awesome!!! Tasted so good with withe rice. I did turn mine half way through. I wanted to make sure both sides got to sit in that sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelle Wood
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
made it for my family we all loved definitely will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States