Sweet and Sour Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe and it will be a regular at our house from now on. I did make a few modifications....I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used rice vinegar. I used olive oil instead of canola, and I did not use pea pods, but did add bell pepper, broccoli, purple onion and water chestnuts. You pretty much can add/use any veggies on hand. I cooked the chicken first and set aside. Then I cooked all of the veggies until just barely tender, then added the chicken, water chestnuts and the sweet and sour sauce. Mixed until all coated, then served over long grain brown rice. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made this along with chicken fried rice to take on a mothers day picnic. My husband and I loved it! It wasn't hard to have seconds with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I didn't have any apricot preserves so I used Orange Marmalade instead and it turned out great. We served it with rice and it made a nice meal for the two of us and some left over for my hubby's lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverdale, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
LOVE this Stir Fry. The sauce is sweet but not too sweet. It's just great. i omit the garlic salt and add fresh minced garlic instead. I also added some red onions. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pahner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This turned out OK in my book, my husband LOVED it. I guess my main peeve was that I used the "low sugar" apricot preserves but I didn't buy SMUCKERS, I bought an off brand and it had that weird diety, saccharin, aspartime after taste that diet sodas have. I will make this again but next time I am buying just regular apricot preserves and we'll see how they turn out. I served mine over a bed of white rice and once I got past the weird taste of the apricot low sugar stuff overall the meal was very tasty. EASY enough to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
It was really good! Though of course I cooked the mushrooms and zucchini in 2 cloves of chopped garlic and added pepper. I also seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper too before I cooked them. I served it over arborio rice which is pretty sticky and Joe loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wow! We loved this recipe. I was so impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaSea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was fantastic, and I didn't even make it right. I had used the mushrooms and zucchini when we made kabobs and forgot to replace them, so I just used the pea pods and added pineapple chunks at the very end. Plus I used apricot pineapple preserves. Was so delicious, I'm sure using all the ingredients will make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was ok, but not spectacular. I liked the addition of the red pepper to give it a little kick, but I'll stick with Sweet & Sour Chicken II from this site for my sweet & sour chicken needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States