Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was delicious and I will make it again. I did double the sauce, but didn't buy a large can of pineapples because I read the reviews after I purchased the ingredients. I didn't give it five stars because it wasn't as sweet as I would have liked it, but perhaps doubling the pineapples will help. I am looking for a fast and easy recipe go-to instead of frozen pizza so I'm going to pre-cut chicken for this dish, cut and par boil the veggies and freeze it all in individual bags so I can quickly defrost and cook up instead of spending way too much money on Chinese take-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as it says, except I did not use carrots. It is definitely not sour at all. Just sweet and salty. Delicious, but not the sweet and sour I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was really easy to make and it turned out very flavorful. I ended up not using ginger only because I realized I didn't have any, but I don't feel like it made a huge difference. Even my picky little eaters cleaned their plates!! Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abeeryassin
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Deserves full 5 stars !! My entire family loved this ! I made some changes though,, I grated 2 cloves of garlic and uses 2 teaspoons of ginger and I used half of this mix to cook the chicken alone first and I added it later after the veggies cooked. I also followed the other suggestions by adding the juice of the pineapples. This smelled fantastic and tasted the same and this was just my first try ! Thank u for this recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
It was not the best I have ever made. Not a remake in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Yum. Added onion because it needed to be used up. Husband and boys loved it. Agree with other reviewers that seasoning the chicken would be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I'm always on the lookout for a good stirfry recipe, and this one was really good! I changed a few things, but it was fantastic! First, I sauteed the chicken with fresh minced garlic and ginger instead of by itself. I set it in a bowl to the side after it was done because I added lots of veggies instead of following the list above. I used carrots, celery, red and yellow peppers, baby corn and thinly sliced onion, which I also sauteed in minced garlic and ginger. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, and replaced the pineapple juice with fresh juice from one orange. After the veggies were almost done, I threw the chicken back in with the fresh pineapple, and dumped the sauce in. I let it simmer for a few minutes until the vinegar cooked and the sauce thickened...it was FANTASTIC. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This recipe is quick. We had a craving for sweet and sour and after finding this recipe, we were eating within 30 min. I with several others that the soy sauce makes it too salty - I only used half what was called for, but will reduce it to even more next time. I doubled the cornstarch and garlic as some people recommended. I ended up doubling the brown sugar to get the right taste. We loved it and will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States