Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was delicious and I will make it again. I did double the sauce, but didn't buy a large can of pineapples because I read the reviews after I purchased the ingredients. I didn't give it five stars because it wasn't as sweet as I would have liked it, but perhaps doubling the pineapples will help. I am looking for a fast and easy recipe go-to instead of frozen pizza so I'm going to pre-cut chicken for this dish, cut and par boil the veggies and freeze it all in individual bags so I can quickly defrost and cook up instead of spending way too much money on Chinese take-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as it says, except I did not use carrots. It is definitely not sour at all. Just sweet and salty. Delicious, but not the sweet and sour I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was really easy to make and it turned out very flavorful. I ended up not using ginger only because I realized I didn't have any, but I don't feel like it made a huge difference. Even my picky little eaters cleaned their plates!! Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abeeryassin
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Deserves full 5 stars !! My entire family loved this ! I made some changes though,, I grated 2 cloves of garlic and uses 2 teaspoons of ginger and I used half of this mix to cook the chicken alone first and I added it later after the veggies cooked. I also followed the other suggestions by adding the juice of the pineapples. This smelled fantastic and tasted the same and this was just my first try ! Thank u for this recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
It was not the best I have ever made. Not a remake in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Yum. Added onion because it needed to be used up. Husband and boys loved it. Agree with other reviewers that seasoning the chicken would be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I'm always on the lookout for a good stirfry recipe, and this one was really good! I changed a few things, but it was fantastic! First, I sauteed the chicken with fresh minced garlic and ginger instead of by itself. I set it in a bowl to the side after it was done because I added lots of veggies instead of following the list above. I used carrots, celery, red and yellow peppers, baby corn and thinly sliced onion, which I also sauteed in minced garlic and ginger. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, and replaced the pineapple juice with fresh juice from one orange. After the veggies were almost done, I threw the chicken back in with the fresh pineapple, and dumped the sauce in. I let it simmer for a few minutes until the vinegar cooked and the sauce thickened...it was FANTASTIC. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This recipe is quick. We had a craving for sweet and sour and after finding this recipe, we were eating within 30 min. I with several others that the soy sauce makes it too salty - I only used half what was called for, but will reduce it to even more next time. I doubled the cornstarch and garlic as some people recommended. I ended up doubling the brown sugar to get the right taste. We loved it and will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States