Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
It was not the best I have ever made. Not a remake in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Yum. Added onion because it needed to be used up. Husband and boys loved it. Agree with other reviewers that seasoning the chicken would be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I'm always on the lookout for a good stirfry recipe, and this one was really good! I changed a few things, but it was fantastic! First, I sauteed the chicken with fresh minced garlic and ginger instead of by itself. I set it in a bowl to the side after it was done because I added lots of veggies instead of following the list above. I used carrots, celery, red and yellow peppers, baby corn and thinly sliced onion, which I also sauteed in minced garlic and ginger. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, and replaced the pineapple juice with fresh juice from one orange. After the veggies were almost done, I threw the chicken back in with the fresh pineapple, and dumped the sauce in. I let it simmer for a few minutes until the vinegar cooked and the sauce thickened...it was FANTASTIC. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This recipe is quick. We had a craving for sweet and sour and after finding this recipe, we were eating within 30 min. I with several others that the soy sauce makes it too salty - I only used half what was called for, but will reduce it to even more next time. I doubled the cornstarch and garlic as some people recommended. I ended up doubling the brown sugar to get the right taste. We loved it and will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Not too Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
While "OK," my hubs and I both agree this wasn't the best sweet & sour we've ever had. Sal's sweet & sour chicken II is FAR better, IMHO. My hubs isn't even a fan of sweet & sour and he REALLY likes Sal's version. :) I felt that the "crunch" usually associated with traditional sweet & sour was missing here. This needs something crisp to add texture - celery or water chestnuts come to mind. The carrots and bell peppers only added slight crunch, leaving me wanting more.... I also felt that this sauce was not as flavorful as other's I've had. As wifeyluvs2cook did, I too cut up breaded (Tyson brand) chicken fingers instead of sauteing actual cut-up chicken breasts. While I thought the idea sounded great, it didn't work for me at all. :( The breading fell off my chicken! In retrospect, I should have partially thawed my chicken FIRST, then cut into chunks BEFORE baking (oh well!). My last change was to add a heaping tablespoonful of katsup to my sauce to impart color (I was out of red food coloring or else I would have used that). Served over fried rice with egg rolls on the side. Maybe this will be THE sweet & sour recipe for your family, but it wasn't for mine. Thanks anyways, VINEYIS. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
What I'm really rating here is the sweet and sour sauce recipe, which I think is spot-on, except that I always use fresh minced ginger rather than powdered. For us vegetarians, this is great over cubed, super-firm tofu or seitan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Both my husband and I LOVED this recipe! It is excellent just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States