Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was good but it didn't 'wow' me. I added an onion, left out the carrots and used a larger can of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
The sauce makes this recipe. I cut the chicken and veggies to serve 2, but left the sauce the same. It was amazing. I added broccoli and onion, omitted the peppers due to personal preference. My husband and I both rated it 5 stars. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Great recipe. It's great prepared just as is in the recipe. Because I like a lot of sauce, I usually use a larger can of pineapple, and increase the amount of juice and cornstarch to give it a bit more sauce. But that's just my personal preference. It is great prepared as the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZA COOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this last week and my husband still talks about how great it was. I followed this recipe to the letter...we'll definitely be making this again. Great to have while watching "House of Flying Daggers" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made this recipe as listed except that I used bell peppers, broccoli and snap peas. It was excellent!!! Next time I probably will use more pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
based on other reviews I used a larger can of pineapple tidbits. I think I did everything else the same. Thought there wasn't really enough sauce. I like saucy sweet sour chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Really yummy! I used 3 lbs of chicken and tripled the sauce and had plenty. The sauce is also so flavorful that a little went a long way. I cubed the chicken and seasoned with kosher salt, pepper, a dash of cayenne pepper, garlic powder and some fresh garlic and let it sit in a ziploc bag while I prepped the remaining ingredients. I then assembled the sauce in a bowl to allow the cornstarch to start to thicken. I used a 20oz can of pineapple in heavy syrup. I pulsed it a few times in the food processer so that it was smaller pieces of pineapple. I sauteed the chicken with only a small amount of oil and when almost finished, I added the veggies. I used carrots and zuccini in matchsticks, a red pepper and a vidalia onion. The sauce was added last and it thickened up VERY quickly. What a thick flavorful sauce! I think peanuts as a garnish or water chestnuts would add a nice crunch. I'll try that next time. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I've made this twice and everyone loves it. The only thing I do different is I add cabbage & baby ears of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaggysGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made this recipe adding some onion, larger can of pineapple and a heaping tablespoon of ketchup as others had mentioned. My family loved it. No leftovers. One of my sons requested I make it again in a couple of days. A family hit. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This was OK, but I will not make it again. There are just so many better recipes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States