Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
It's hard to find a recipe that truly tastes like you would expect...My husband, son and I REALLY enjoyed this recipe. The reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because i think it needs a few modifications. SEASON THE CHICKEN: If you don't, the chicken is a little bland even if the sauce is salty. I think it would better to season the chicken and cut down on the soy sauce if you don't like salty food...(I do though). I just used some sea salt and cracked black pepper before frying it and it was really good. MORE SAUCE: I doubled the sauce like other reviewers, and I am glad I did because it was perfect. I used almost all the juice of a 20oz can of pineapple, and about half the pineapple in the can (don't like things too sweet). The only thing I wouldn't double in the sauce is the ginger, unless you like a strong ginger flavor. I also added some Chinese Garlic Chili sauce (1 tsp) for a bit of spice in the sauce and some sesame seeds as I was frying the veggies. for the 1 pound of chicken, i used 1 whole green bell pepper and 1 whole red pepper, also added 1 onion (i think it's a must!) and 1 carrot. It's easier for me to measure veggies like that as opposed to in cups. I also added 1TBSP of ketchup like other reviewers did, and to make it easier, I combined ALL the ingredients of the sauce in a medium bowl and wisked, and then just poured all that into the skillet when the chicken and the veggies were done. I WILL MAKE IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN! THANK YOU VINEYIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Thought this was yummy! I followed some other suggestions & added about 3/4 of a 20 oz can of pineapple w/ juice, kept soy sauce the same & doubled cornstarch, vinegar & brown sugar. Also added about 2 T ketchup. Used garlic powder instead of fresh. Used 1 green pepper & 1 med. onion & about 1 C matchstick carrots. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This recipe was so easy and very delish-5 year old and hubby devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was too bland for my taste,I have a better recipe. I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I thought this was very good with the addition of ketchup, onion, and more pineapple. My kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Kent, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great recipe, and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
We liked this recipe very much! I used cubed pork instead of chicken, and I added chopped onions, 2 tabsp. ketchup, and halved maraschino cherries with a little juice for flavor and color. (I only had green bell peppers, no red) I increased the vinegar to offset the sweetness of the cherries. We served this over white rice. I put condiment dishes of slivered almonds, chopped green onions, and chinese noodles to add on top according to personal preference. It was a very attractive dish, and very tasty. And quick and easy, which rates high in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this a few years ago and forgot to save it to my recipe box. I just stumbled across it again and made it tonight. I still love it! Double the sauce if you like to drizzle it over your rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe is easy to make and very very good, even for the average cook. I used 3/4 of a can of pineapple tidbits and added a little Asian Zing sauce from Buffalo Wild Wings! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDSAY33

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monroe City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States