Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This recipe is really good, here's a little hint. Instead of the flour for the thickening, add about 2 tlbs. of cornstarch to 3/4 cup of ketchep, mix it up well until there are no lumps and pour the ketchep mixture in the hot sauce, it's thickens nicely and ketchup is a must in sweet and sour sauce I think. I added lots of chopped different colour peppers and onions. Yummy over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was amazing! I used corn starch (2 TSP) in place of Flour to lower the WW pps and it is still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This was a great for a quick put together meal. I didn't have celery or the pineapple but it worked really well substituting mandarin oranges and dried cranberries. I also added a clove of minced garlic, onion, sliced carrot and used corn starch to thicken. Tastes great using pork also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
To give this dish that orangey color, I added four tablespoons of catsup. I cut back on the sugar because I used pineapple juice instead of the chunks. I also used cornstarch to thicken and not flour. With my chicken, I dipped the pieces into egg and then into cornstarch and deep fried. Once done, I put everything into my crockpot and let it simmer. Everyone at our Christmas party said it tasted very authentic and I suppose due to my slow cooker, the chicken was incredibly tender. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
use ciger vinegar - very good flavour. Will definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Simply wonderful! Finally, a recipe that makes anything we can get at a restaurant pale in comparison. I followed several hints from other people: ommitted celery (we don't like it), used 1/4 cup of soy suace, 1/4 cup of vinager, & 1/4 cup of ketchup; also would suggest taking about 1/2 cup of the hot liquid out, mixing it with the flour and then returning it to the rest of the mixture to avoid lumps. Took this to a pot-luck, served over white rice, and it was all but licked clean. The best part: my family loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Oh my gosh, this is to die for! I just made it, & I can't wait for supper to eat it! I had to "sneak a little taste" of it already, & I can't believe how something that was as easy as this was to make, can be soooooooo good! I know my family is going to love it! There will be no leftovers tonight! Thanks Sal, for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
I love this recipe!! The sauce is very tangy, but really good. I think it would be too tangy if you didn't serve it over rice. I'll be using this recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Delicious and easy to make. I left out the celery and used one green and one red pepper. It looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Can't wait to make it again. Didn't use all the green peppers, celery, water chestnuts, or pineapple, and it was very delicious. Serve with lots of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States