Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was a decent recipe, but I altered it a little to suit my taste. After I cut up the chicken, I mixed in minced ginger and garlic and let it sit for a bit. That really improved the flavour of the chicken. I added quartered onions and sliced carrots in addition to the green pepper and celery. Since I had some fresh pineapple, I used that instead and compensated with orange juice instead of the pineapple liquid I would have had from the can. I prefer using cornstarch mixed in with a little cold water instead of flour. But otherwise followed the rest of the recipe, turned out pretty good. The vinegar/sugar ratio is right-on and gives the dish a nice sweet tanginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Yum! We had this for dinner on Friday night and my husband has requested it again for tonight. It tastes just like carryout Chinese. I did follow the other reviewers suggestion of mixing ketchup with cornstarch and I also dipped the chicken in soy sauce and flour and cooked it some vegetable oil. This will definitely be in our meal plan rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was a bit too sweet for our taste, so I will cut back on the brown sugar next time. But other than that, it was a hit. I also used Wondra rather than regular flour because I am terrible at making smooth sauces. It went well with fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Family LOVED it, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiKatherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was my first time making sweet and sour chicken. I fried my chicken with a liquid batter and I used the cornstarch, apple cider vinegar and ketchup. It was really good and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsShayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Yummy! I cooked chicken in a large skillet then added sauce ingredients (using cornstarch instead of flour, premixed it in the soy sauce to avoid lumps), let it thicken in the skillet then added the vegetables (substituted 1" pieces of vidalia onion instead of the celery). Less dishes to wash! Simple, easy, delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This brings me back to my childhood! My mother would make this at least once a month! It is AWESOME! It is so quick on those busy nights!!! I did add a little ginger, garlic salt, and about 1/2 cup of diced onion to the chicken when it was cooking. But this is for sure a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
My husband said this is pretty darn close to restaurant sweet and sour. I took some others' advice here - changed the order of cooking around a bit, too. I added 1 clove minced jar garlic, 1 cup chopped broccoli, 1/4 cup onion. Omitted the flour and water chestnuts. I sauteed my vegetables in 1 T oil until they were crisp tender, then added the vinegar, juice, soy sauce & brown sugar; also used 1/4 cup cornstarch smoothly mixed with 1/4 cup ketchup - stirred that into it, thickened and it was *awesome*. Definitely will be making this again - fast, inexpensive, delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Thought it was pretty good! I used stirfry veggies instead of the suggested veggies. Sauce is thick and a littel goes along way with the rice. Some suggested to make a lot of rice with it and that is true! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was fantastic. The best sweet and sour I've made. Very easy too (some of the recipes on this site were way to complicated. THis one was not). I didn't have peppers so used broccoli and onions. Everyone in my family loved it. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States