Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Turned out great! Definitely a keeper! My only adjustment was adding a quartered onion and sauteing vegetables with fresh ginger root (later removed) and fresh minced garlic before adding them to the sauce. I used cornstarch, instead of flour and let the sauce reduce a little bit with the piece of ginger root that I later removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Amazing. Followed exactly and loved it, as did my two and a half year old son
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Wowza! This is absolutely delish!!! I must admit, I was a bit skeptical at first.... I am NOT a fan of uncooked celery OR water chestnuts, but I was pleasantly surprised that I liked both in this! I pretty much followed Sal's directions to the letter except for a couple of substitutions. I had a red bell pepper to use up, so I added it (along with one green bell pepper). I cut all of my veggies (except the water chestnuts) into medium-sized chunks. Since my grocer was out of 20 oz. cans of pineapple in juice, I used almost all of (3) 8 oz. cans worth of fruit and juice. My final change was to sub 2 T cornstarch for the flour called for (I have never had any luck with flour as a thickener). NOTE #1: DO NOT add katsup to the sauce! I was tempted to (as a thickener and to impart some color), but I'm SOOOO glad I didn't. If you have red food coloring, use it instead. It only takes a few drops to turn your sauce a traditional red sweet & sour color and you won't have to compromise a great recipe to do so. NOTE #2: Be sure to whisk your thickener (flour or cornstarch) into your liquids BEFORE adding to your hot skillet. Bring to a gentle boil, stirring constantly until thickened and THEN turn the heat down and add your chicken / veggies. Other than needing more chicken (personal preference), I can't think of any way to improve upon this recipe. Just be sure to serve with plenty of rice to sop up the yummy sauce! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Sal. This is a winner for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellent s&s sauce -- thankfully, not as coyingly sweet as some. Good consistency and easy to make. Definitely a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was very good! My husband loved it, and I thought it was good as well. I did use flour to thicken the sauce, and it worked fine, but I did have to turn up the heat a little to get it to thicken. Very good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This recipe slays it with everyone I make it for! Follow SUSANJOANNE's suggestion with the corn starch and ketchup and your golden. Also I add a variety of veggies other than listed. Mushrooms, baby corns, onions, red and yellow bell peppers, in addition to whats listed already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was fast and easy. And for fast and easy it tasted very good. Very, very good. I was able to make this out of what I had in the cupboard. I will definitely add this to my regular meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
The sauce was a little too sweet for me, but otherwise a good recipe. Next time I may leave out the pineapple juice and just add pineapple to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Thanks for sharing, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was an excellent dinner! I added onion, zuchini, and some red pepper to the recipe. The more vegis not rotting in the fridge, the better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States