Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was much better than I thought it might be as the vegetables were more or less just heated. The celery and water chestnuts gave it a nice crunch. I used a combination of different coloured peppers and adjusted quantities of everything based on how much I had. We used corn starch to thicken but added it closer to the end of cooking, first mixing with hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very good and easy. I thought it was alittle sweet, but no one else did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe but I would definitely say that there is about three times more sauce than needed. I will make it again and cut the sauce ingredients in thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Another winner, thanks for the recipe! I also fried my chicken in a cornstarch coating, and then subbed cornstarch for flour in the sauce (mixed with ketchup). We didn't have -ANY- of the veggies but even without this was a great recipe. Sure to be a winner with the veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is Wonderful!! I cubed the chicken and sauteed it in sesame oil. Based on the 1st review I mixed 2 T. cornstarch in 3/4 C. ketchup and use that as a thickening agent instead of the 1/4 C. flour. Used green and orange bell pepper. Will try adding unsalted cashews next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
the batter for the chicken is great, the chicken looks and tastes just like a chinese restaurant. The sweet and sour sauce didnt come out so well for me...ive made it twice but it just doesnt taste right to me. maybe just me and my family's taste buds? idk...we just get some sweet and sour from walmart and its awesome! i make this chicken all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Turned out great! Definitely a keeper! My only adjustment was adding a quartered onion and sauteing vegetables with fresh ginger root (later removed) and fresh minced garlic before adding them to the sauce. I used cornstarch, instead of flour and let the sauce reduce a little bit with the piece of ginger root that I later removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Amazing. Followed exactly and loved it, as did my two and a half year old son
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Wowza! This is absolutely delish!!! I must admit, I was a bit skeptical at first.... I am NOT a fan of uncooked celery OR water chestnuts, but I was pleasantly surprised that I liked both in this! I pretty much followed Sal's directions to the letter except for a couple of substitutions. I had a red bell pepper to use up, so I added it (along with one green bell pepper). I cut all of my veggies (except the water chestnuts) into medium-sized chunks. Since my grocer was out of 20 oz. cans of pineapple in juice, I used almost all of (3) 8 oz. cans worth of fruit and juice. My final change was to sub 2 T cornstarch for the flour called for (I have never had any luck with flour as a thickener). NOTE #1: DO NOT add katsup to the sauce! I was tempted to (as a thickener and to impart some color), but I'm SOOOO glad I didn't. If you have red food coloring, use it instead. It only takes a few drops to turn your sauce a traditional red sweet & sour color and you won't have to compromise a great recipe to do so. NOTE #2: Be sure to whisk your thickener (flour or cornstarch) into your liquids BEFORE adding to your hot skillet. Bring to a gentle boil, stirring constantly until thickened and THEN turn the heat down and add your chicken / veggies. Other than needing more chicken (personal preference), I can't think of any way to improve upon this recipe. Just be sure to serve with plenty of rice to sop up the yummy sauce! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Sal. This is a winner for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellent s&s sauce -- thankfully, not as coyingly sweet as some. Good consistency and easy to make. Definitely a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States