Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I did add some onion and also about 1/4 cup of ketchup to the sauce and omitted the celery because I don't care for it. It was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I went a step further. I added sweet pickle slices, which increased the flavor intensity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We thought this was really good! Everyone, kids included really enjoyed it. I think I would decrease the sugar next time. I did decrease the vinegar qty - as others suggested. The can of pineapple I bought was only 14oz, so I added OJ to make up the difference. We will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is so good!! I was upset that there weren't any leftovers for lunch the next day. I followed the common advice in the reviews and used corn starch to help thicken the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I loved this recipe, I didn't add the pineapples or water chestnuts, and i did cut down on the vinegar. It was so good, perfect sweet and sour ratio. My hubby said it was a bit sweet but not in my opinion, i did add some broccoli with the sweet peppers and a bit of jerk sauce to cut some of the sweetness. I'm in heaven it was perfect, def will become a staple in my cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanti1620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Followed others suggestions and used cornstarch instead of flour. I doubled the recipe, added brocolli,and red pepper. I made the sauce on the stovetop, then poured it over the veggies and uncooked chicken strips in the crockpot. Cooked on low 3-4 hours, added pineapple chunks last 1/2 hour. Served over brown rice and was delish! Crowd pleaser and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skiski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The best homemade sweet and sour sauce I've ever made! I sauteed an onion, one green pepper and one red pepper first until the onion was cooked. Then added the ingredients to make the sauce, thickened it with cornstarch mixed with a bit of cold water, and finally added the cooked chicken (bought 8 large cooked and breaded filets from the hot deli section at the grocery store and sliced them up!) and the pineapple. It's a meal that's tasty, the right combo of sweet and tangy, and incredibly easy for week nights when you have no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Was very delicious, I didn't particularly like the pineapple chunks so next time I will leave them out. I used lots of different vegetables, and the water chestnuts added the perfect crunch. Served it over white rice and was thoroughly enjoyed. Will make this again, maybe trying with pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I have not made this yet. I was really appreciative that cornstarch was recommended instead of flower. My youngest daughter has a wheat allergy and it is a challenge to adapt recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe was just o.k. I found it to be WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States