Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was way too sweet for my husband and me. My kids didn't like it either. Wasn't terrible, just wasn't something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Easy, family loved it. I did it in a wok ( chicken first, then prepared according to recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Today I made the recipe and my family and I enjoyed this delicious and heavenly dish!! I read other reviews. I just only added 1/2 cup of ketcup and reduced down to 1/2 cup of celery. I followed all these ingredients. The sauce became thickened!. I grilled the chicken before I chopped them and stirred them in the sauce sauepan. It smelled so sweet! Next time I will make half of floured chicken and grilled chicken separately because my 5-year-old girl wanted the floured chicken. The sauce tasted the exact flavor from Chopsticks restarant!! That is what I desperately looked for many many many years!! Thank you very much, Sal!!! This recipe is in my box!! You should win this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I did add some onion and also about 1/4 cup of ketchup to the sauce and omitted the celery because I don't care for it. It was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I went a step further. I added sweet pickle slices, which increased the flavor intensity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We thought this was really good! Everyone, kids included really enjoyed it. I think I would decrease the sugar next time. I did decrease the vinegar qty - as others suggested. The can of pineapple I bought was only 14oz, so I added OJ to make up the difference. We will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is so good!! I was upset that there weren't any leftovers for lunch the next day. I followed the common advice in the reviews and used corn starch to help thicken the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I loved this recipe, I didn't add the pineapples or water chestnuts, and i did cut down on the vinegar. It was so good, perfect sweet and sour ratio. My hubby said it was a bit sweet but not in my opinion, i did add some broccoli with the sweet peppers and a bit of jerk sauce to cut some of the sweetness. I'm in heaven it was perfect, def will become a staple in my cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanti1620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Followed others suggestions and used cornstarch instead of flour. I doubled the recipe, added brocolli,and red pepper. I made the sauce on the stovetop, then poured it over the veggies and uncooked chicken strips in the crockpot. Cooked on low 3-4 hours, added pineapple chunks last 1/2 hour. Served over brown rice and was delish! Crowd pleaser and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skiski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The best homemade sweet and sour sauce I've ever made! I sauteed an onion, one green pepper and one red pepper first until the onion was cooked. Then added the ingredients to make the sauce, thickened it with cornstarch mixed with a bit of cold water, and finally added the cooked chicken (bought 8 large cooked and breaded filets from the hot deli section at the grocery store and sliced them up!) and the pineapple. It's a meal that's tasty, the right combo of sweet and tangy, and incredibly easy for week nights when you have no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States