Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This was very good! I made a half recipe, using frozen multi-colored pepper strips that I had on hand (would increase the amount the next time). Per some of the recommendations, I used corn starch in place of the flour, dissolving it an equal amount of ketchup. I did find the celery to be a little hard, so also next time, I would saute the celery for a few minutes beforehand, maybe adding some onion slices, as well. I used apple cider vinegar and also added garlic and onion powder. Skipped the water chestnuts because I don't usually have them on hand. Served with jasmine rice that I made in my rice cooker. Thanks for the great recipe, Sal, that came together fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Very good - both of us. Maybe a pound of chicken is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
4/15: super easy. marinate chicken cubes in teriyaki marinade for an hour. in wok, saute chicken in oil. in microwave steam frozen stir fry mix, add to chicken when chicken is done. make the sauce from this recipe, for 2 people i did the conversion chart. add pineapples at the end. serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
My family and I loved this! I used coconut sugar instead of brown sugar, unbleached flour to thicken, and I did use shredded pineapple in a can and it turned out just fine, but I love pineapple. I didn't mind it not being red, the taste was amazing! Served over rice, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Delightful and easy! Took some suggestions and used cornstarch and ketchup. Will be going into the weeknight dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Good recipe. I made the sauce a bit too thick, not sure the exact resolution... probably less flour, but the flavor was very good. We will probably make it less sweet next time as well (less brown sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamabaker
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My family really liked it! Omitted the celery and water chesnuts. As a few reviewers noted, i added 2 tbsp corn starch and 3/4 ketchup to the sauce, omitting the flour. Added 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. Used a pack of diced tri-color peppers. I used 2 lbs of chicken tenderloins, each one cut into 3 (to make bite sized pieces). I dredged them in flour and fried in a bit or corn oil until light golden brown before adding to sauce. That helped the sauce stay on the chicken. I have to say there was sooo much sauce. I almost doubled it since i had more chicken than the recipe called for. (Next time i will use like 1.5 lbs chicken and half the sauce.) Served over white rice. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I was looking for a recipe to use some leftover chicken and came across this. Loved it! I omitted the celery and will add broccoli next time, as others have suggested. The sauce was so tasty - very glad I found this - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
did mine in the oven...added grated ginger..salt & pepper on the cut up chicken breast....fresh pineapple...chestnuts , broccoli cut up peppers added baby carrots...poured the liguid ( and brown sugar) over the chicken and vegetable.... tinfoil to cover ...baked 350 for one hr...no flour...served over brown rice...will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina lafreniere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Photo by Mare
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I was really impressed how well this recipe turned out. I was surprised at how easy it was and how delicious it came out. I made it for my brother and me.The only downside was that I used white wine vinegar because that is what I had and I think it made the vinegar flavor too strong. Next time, I will use regular vinegar and less of it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States