Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I liked this. I am definitely going to cut back on the sugar next time and I didn't have the water chestnuts but I can tell that the crunch would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
My 9 year old daughter made this recipe. She omitted the celery and left the pineapple chunks on the side. It was really very good and obviously very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Delish! My hubby was very hesitant about eating this dish because the chicken was fried and battered. However, once he tried it, he found that he liked it quite well. I will definitely be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Very easy and very good. Because I didn't have green pepper and water chestnuts around I used carrots with the pineapple and chicken. I tossed the chicken in some flour seasoned with salt and pepper and threw that in the pot first to brown. Then I pulled it out and made the sauce using only 1/2 cup of brown sugar and a couple squirts of ketchup. I thickened it with flour and water because I'm out of cornstarch at the moment. It was a great dinner. Very easy to make and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
WOW GOOD!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
My family like this, but next time I will use less vinegar. Probably start with half as much as is called for and add as needed. The vinegar was a bit strong and I added more sugar and ketchup. Needs tweeked, but definitely a keeper. It will get added to our "Family Favorites" folder in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
OhhMyyy I just love this recipe. I added yellow, red and orange peppers and a carrot along with all the stuff called for. I used left over chicken nuggets cut up from McDonalds instead of the chicken strips because my silly husband thought buying a 50 pack would be yummy for SuperBowl Sunday. Needless to say they didn't get eaten and I didn't want to waste them. I did everything else the same. The sauce is what made this. I couldn't believe how great it tasted.(because I made it). sal this is a great recipe. p.s. If you are making this and think after you add the veggies that you need more sauce, wait! I saw how full the pan was and started to make another batch of the sauce so I would have enough for the chicken. But after simmering just a couple of minutes and then dumping the chicken in it was fine. I couldn't believe it, even with the extra veggies I added it was a perfect amount. I will be serving this over rice(even though hubby hates rice) and see how everyone likes it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crs4daz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My family loved this!!! I did not use the nuts and added some chopped onions, but i followed the recipe for everything else. It was quick and easy.I will cook it again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I thought this was a good recipe, however it was a lil on the tangy side, next time I will cut back on the vinegar. My son gave this a 3 1/2 I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I was not in my own kitchen making this dish which made my life difficult. I only had one medium saucepan so I fried up the chicken with a bit of pepper and garlic powder and cut it into pieces after it was cooked. I deviated from the recipe and cooked the veggies first because I don't like them raw. I took them off the stove then cooked the sauce and added the chicken and veggies back in. It was delicious and my grandma said it was the best chicken she ever had. She was probably exaggerating, but it was really good. Will make it again! oh and I used cornstarch instead of flour. I also only used a forth of a cup of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States