Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
The recipe for the chicken and sauce was fantastic. It surprised me how much the sauce tasted like my local Chinese resturant. I gave it 4 stars because I didn't particularly care too much for the pineapples and green peppers. I served this over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved it and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great recipe and easy to follow. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out well. It tasted just like the one I get from my favorite Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
loved this recipe. My husband does not like sweet entrees so I will try it without sugar. I did prepare the vegetables differently. I fried maybe half a teaspoon of ginger paste for about a minute and added a quarter of an onion diced large and pineapple (i used slices diced large). Stir-fried for a few minutes until lightly browned. Added peppers and turned the heat off. I stirred in the sauce. Everyone loved this recipe even my picky 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is so good and so much better than your typical american chinese restaurant. It takes quite a long time so if you need it finished faster, cut the chicken into larger slices or "fingers". This is a ton of batter also so you may want to cut in half if you do the large pieces of chicken. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made this recipe for a Chinese New Year celebration we hosted at our senior center and they loved it! Very easy and delicious. I pretty much followed the recipe as printed and had no difficulties. I just wish I'd made more sauce, but overall, it was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Loved this!!!!! I've made many great dishes from this site, but this is my first comment ever.. My family went nuts over this one, as did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Loved it and made plenty for my huge family. The one thing that I did different was that I stir fried half an onion, one bell pepper, sugar snap peas and shredded carrots. I added the pineapple at the end and cooked it all together for a few minutes then I dumped the sweet and sour sauce over the veggies. This allowed me to cater to the vegetarians in my family. Also made sure that the sauce was evenly distributed and forced the all the kids to eat the veggies:) For the vegetarians, I used the same batter and coated veggie chicken strips and fried them prior to using the oil for the regular chicken. This is a perfect recipe for a large family and works well for a mixed family of meat-eaters/vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizclemetson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 712) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States