Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This recipe is REALLY good! Here's a few things to possibly make it easier for whoever tries this next... 1)The step #2 is for the batter that coats the chicken 2)#1 is seperate, and is for the sweet and sour sauce 3)when you add the corn starch to the sauce with the water, COMBINE the water and corn starch first and THEN put it in so you don't get lumps. 4)The batter looks kinda like pancake batter and it's OK it's supposed to be that way! 5)If you don't have self-rising flower just add 1/2t salt and 1 1/2t baking powder to your flower 6)If you want to save for leftovers DONT pour the sauce over the leftover chickens. Keep them seperate and then pan-fry the chickens when you want them again to maintain the crispy outside. Thanks - wonderful recipe, my husband and I will be enjoying this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1475 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I gave this 4 stars because the first time i made it, it was a horrible dissapointment. The chicken was bland and had no flavor. I decided to try again and tweeked it a bit and it turned out fantastic! The only thing i really did different was season the chicken liberally with salt, pepper, onion and gralic powder (after i had chopped it up) and let it set in the fridge for 30min-1hr. For the batter i skipped the cornstartch and since i didn't have self rising flour i added an extra 1/2tsp salt and 1.5tsp baking powder, and i added about 1tsp onion powder. The chicken itself was sooooo good. We were all eating it plain while i was cooking it. With these small changes it turned out amazing, tasted better than my favorite chinese place! When i want to make this for guests and don't want to spend an hour frying up the chicken i fry it up earlier in the day, throw it on a baking sheet and heat it up on 350 in the oven for about 15 min and its still crispy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
721 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This is excellent! My hubby is picky about his asian cuisine, and he loved it! I made a few changes: I kept the chicken, veggies, and sauce in separate bowls for serving. Added 2 sliced carrots and 1/2 chopped onions to the green peppers and sauted them lightly. Added 2T soy sauce and the pineapple chunks to the s/s sauce. Next time I will double the sauce batch though. There wasn't enough for the amount of chicken pieces, for our tastes. Served this over white rice with side of egg rolls. A wonderful meal with awesome flavor. We're sold on this one! Also: the kids loved the leftover chicken pieces for lunch as chicken nuggets w/ ketchup! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
HELPFUL TIPS IN PREPARING: 1. Make the chicken ahead and save for whenever you will eat this dish. Heating in oven at 350 for 15 min. really does work and chicken is really crispy but that's really b/c the batter is so dang perfectly thick. DEFINITELY start with making the chicken batter, as described like pancake mix. When cutting recipe in half, ALSO cut in half the chicken batter (1C water, flour, 1T cornstarch&oil, 1/2t salt, 1/5t baking powder, egg). I never have self-rising flour, so that's where the baking powder comes in. 2. The sauce is only good for about 4 chicken breasts, otherwise double the sauce. It thickens up REALLY well, but as mentioned ...make sure the cornstarch is completely dissolved in water before adding it. I keep the sauce on lowest setting until ready to eat. 3. Take some frozen veggies, fry in pan with some soy sauce for a great side dish! 4. My kids love the chicken w/o sauce, so they think it's chicken nugget night w/ketchup. 5. Tastes better to coat the chicken in sauce rather than dumping over, but only use the chicken you plan on eating so you can save the rest for leftovers. Otherwise it gets mushy the next day when mixed in with sauce. I just reheat sauce while chicken is in oven for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Pretty good recipe for a Chinese food lover like me. Easy ingredients too!! BUT I think it should say from the begining to KEEP the Pinapple juice in a container for use in sauce. I almost discharged mine!! AHh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Absolutely the best sweet and sour chicken recipe I've ever tried. My husband and I thought it was delicious. One comment about the directions: the amount of water to add to the chicken batter is a little hard to interperate. Make sure you only use 1 cup of water not 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This recipe is authentic and tastes very similar to the restaraunt style sweet & sour chicken. I probably will not make it again though because of the amount of work. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
my first thought when i tasted this: "oh my god, did i just make that??" this was amazing! the batter has a really good flavor. i added in extra pepper and salt. i served it with steamed white rice and stir fried vegetables (sliced onion, carrots and red pepper) in peanut oil. i added in just under 3/4 cup of sugar and the sauce was just perfect! this is a keeper -- great recipe, just as good as somethiing you'd get in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
THIS RECIPE WAS GREAT. NOT TOO TIME CONSUMING. I DID CHOOSE TO STIR FRY THE VEGETABLES JUST A LITTLE BIT AND EVERYONE LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Here's my modification if you don't like the extra calories in battered meat: Heat 1/2 tsp. sesame oil and 1 1/2 Tblsp vegetable oil until shimmering. Brown meat (chicken or pork cubes). Remove. Add vegetables (sliced carrots, onion, peppers) and saute. Lower heat, return meat to pan. Add sauce ingredients while stirring constantly. Lower heat to simmer and cover. Cook about 15 minutes until meat is cooked thoroughly but vegetables are still firm. I NEVER add food coloring b/c I think it looks silly, and LOVE the flavor of the sesame oil. Sometimes dump in some fresh sliced tomatoes during the last 2-3 minutes, just long enough to heat through. You can also use shrimp in this recipe, but put them in at the very end and only cook a few min. or they will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Draggin' Wings

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 732) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States