Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I've been looking for a batter to make Chinese chicken for a long time. This one was delicious. I did add some salt and pepper and garlic powder to the chicken before adding it to the thick batter. It helped a lot since the batter is not too seasoned. The fried chicken can be used as a base for a lot of different dishes or just plain chicken nuggets. I doubled the sauce as some suggested but ended up having too much. I didn't mix it together since I didn't want the chicken to get soggy, so that may have made a difference with the extra sauce. Took it to a family event and it was enjoyed by people from 3 years old to 63 years old. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I loved it.. when i first cooked it.. it is good.. but my mom said the servig is not only for 8.. it is too much for 8 and lack of sweet and sour soup.. but thats okay.. at least im learning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This recipe was really pretty easy to make and I added more vegetables. It was great my husband even said he was impressed and after 35 years that was a big compliment...lol...try it and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
We loved it. I swear it was just like its supposed to be. I used the frozen breaded chicken pieces to save time and cutting out step 2 entirely. I also chopped up some red and orange peppers. That was a nice add. When I make it next time I will cut back on the sugar, it was a bit too sweet with the pineapples and all that sugar. Ready in NO time if using the frozen chicken pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
A very tasty recipe - instead of adding orange food colouring though I added a few tablespoons of tomato ketchup which as well as adding the required colour, also gave the sauce an extra layer of tang. The batter was a little too thick though I have to say it really was delicious - I'd just make it a bit thinner next time - will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Love this recipe, as is and have added things also to change it up. I do not use food coloring as the color of the sauce doesnt really matter to me. Thanks for an easy sweet n sour chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI_ILLUSION_ST

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe, I made it tonight and me and my boyfriend loved it! This is one of my favourite Chinese dishes and I was so happy to find an easy, simple and delicious recipe for it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darling Calzado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Very good, I found that I prefer to use pineapple tidbits rather than the larger chunks, so you get smaller bits of pineapple more evenly distributed throughout the dish. We also like to sprinkle some Chinese Noodles over the top for a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as written and I loved it! The only thing I would do differently next time is up the vinegar to 3/4 cup. It was not nearly tart enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
this was one of the best sweet and sour chickens I have ever had. I made a big serving of it for my family and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States