Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Loved it and made plenty for my huge family. The one thing that I did different was that I stir fried half an onion, one bell pepper, sugar snap peas and shredded carrots. I added the pineapple at the end and cooked it all together for a few minutes then I dumped the sweet and sour sauce over the veggies. This allowed me to cater to the vegetarians in my family. Also made sure that the sauce was evenly distributed and forced the all the kids to eat the veggies:) For the vegetarians, I used the same batter and coated veggie chicken strips and fried them prior to using the oil for the regular chicken. This is a perfect recipe for a large family and works well for a mixed family of meat-eaters/vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizclemetson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This had a great flavor. I will definitely be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Cloud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
A very nice recipe. I tried it today for lunch and served it with plain rice. I made little changes with the recipe, I used 2-3 garlic cloves instead of its powder, used white granulated sugar,with more salt and pepper and added 2 tablespoon of vinegar, and 1 teaspoon chilli sause. The unique thing about this recipe I found was the frying of chicken pc, which enhanced its taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I was the only one who liked this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Used egg whites instead of an egg. Also used 1/2 jar of maraschino cherries, fresh pineapple and red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I just used the pineapple sauce part of this to put over some baked Tyson honey breast tenders and it was a simple, great meal. I'm sure the whole recipe would be delicious because the sauce is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I live in Springfield Missouri, & this recipe is extremely close to the sweet & sour sauce we have here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Added soy sauce to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Absolutely fantastic. My guy said it was better than any restaurant could do! The batter was crazy thick but I learned how to master it quickly. It will become a regular in our house. Thank you for a wonderful dinner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Ann Foglio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boardman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
The flavor and outcome were really good, but this dish is very labor intensive. For the work put into it, I felt it was just "good", not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 743) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States