Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Amazing! Do keep the ingredients separate, and layer in the end when serving - this allows everyone to regulate the amount of sauce to rice to chicken, and to stack on their favourite veggies. We also had green onion slivers available as a topping, and you could easily add ham chunks or broccoli florets as options too. This recipe yielded lots of sauce for us, as is. We will absolutely be making this again. Oh, and as a note on the dip for the chicken - I have always found it easier to dip the chunks of raw meat into the eggs first, then dredge with flour. Whenever I try to make a paste, it is difficult to coat the meat - but this may just be me. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coffeebeansrock
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I used fresh pineapple but had to buy a small can of pineapple juice to make the sauce. Love sweet n sour. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I tried this last night for dinner and it was awesome, however I did make some changes. Instead of raw green pepper I battered the slices and deep fried them and added salt right a way. used the larger can of pineapple, and served the chicken over white rice. MY HUSBAND THIS WAS DIFFENTLY A KEEPER RECIPE. Samie Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This ended up being much easier to make than I thought and it came out really well. I did have a little trouble getting the batter to stick to the chicken for some reason, not sure if that was the recipe or user error. I would definitely make this again. Everyone really liked it and it's even better than the version most Chinese delivery places serve. The only change I made was a little squirt of sriracha instead of the good coloring. It didn't make it spicy but added a little color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was pretty good. The health conscious part of me didn't batter and deep fry the chicken - just fried it a little in a wok and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This recipe turned out to be even more tastier than I imagined. I added broccoli and onions to the dish (saute separately) and it was quite the hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
OMG! This was exactly I was looking for...a deep fried chicken dish with flavor!!! Perfect..so much better than the local Chinese restaurant! A little time consuming BUT SO WORTH IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalen
Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this yesterday and am very pleased with the results! Followed the recipe exactly except for using fresh pineapple and fresh pineapple juice. Will definitely be making this again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crprice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Amazing! I tried it and my husband and son said we don't have to go to Panda Express anymore, lol. They ate it all up!! This was a very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Okay, Sauce made chicken coating fall off and become chewy. Used food colorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States