Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Loved thi, better than my normal chinese takeout! Hubby loved it too. Made two meals out of it since it's just us two. Easy recipe to make, I prepped most of the items during the day and then it was just throw it together. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Hubby really loved this and that is the reason for the 5 stars. For me, it was good, but it was a lot of work and I wasn't impressed with the sauce. There is so much cornstarch that it becomes gelatinous and the orange food coloring just looks fake. This has to be served immediately as the breading gets soft in a very short time frame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Amazing!! Made such a lovely dinner for myself and the kids! I did not have the cornstarch and I used some leftover sauce (since I didn't have any pineapple) but the chicken turned out soooo good. I have a hard time getting my son to eat but he ate this up. Tastes like the China Palace downtown made it :-) A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is a very good recipe made it for the Hubby nad he raved all night over it, and he can be very fussy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr.Marwa
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This recipe is just amazing..it tastes better than in restaurant..I presented it with stir fried noodles which i add some chilli ,green onion , soy sauce and oyster sauce to make it rich..the combination is more than perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This was my first attempt at really frying anything with batter, and suffice it to say that it didn't go well. It's not the recipe's fault, I'm sure, but it was pretty much a total disaster; the best I can say is that I didn't fill the kitchen with smoke :( I had to cook the chicken in four batches because I didn't have a big enough skillet, so it took me HOURS. The first batch I didn't cook enough, but somehow the batter all stuck to the bottom of the pan and burned. The second batch, I compensated by completely overcooking. I was ready to give up after that, but I had a big thing of chicken and sauce that I hated to just throw out. The third and fourth batches looked slightly better than the other two, but the consistency of the batter just isn't quite right, and I don't know why. I guess I'll have to try this again when I'm a little more experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by molina411
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Delicious! I took advice of others and doubled the sauce which was def a good idea. My husband was running late from work the night I made this and the chicken cooled off by the time he arrived. I took another poster's advice and popped it in the oven for 15 min at 350 degrees F. Perfect solution! Followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved it! Will for sure make again. Oh, forgot to mention that I took another's advice and flavored the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder when I cut them into chunks and marinated for an hour in the fridge. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder in the flour mixture. I would suggest doing this as it will give the chicken more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Love this recipe, it is my husbands favorite! We follow the recipe exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My family loved it! Tasted just like we ordered it from a restraunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea M Quaranto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Overall, this was great for my first attempt at Sweet and Sour Chicken. This recipe was good, other than the flavor of the sauce (it was missing a little something, sort of fell flat on the palette, I will be searching for a better sauce recipe for future use). I added the pineapple (along with it's juices) and the peppers directly to the sauce at the beginning of preparation of said sauce. I have never had sweet and sour chicken served with raw peppers in a restaurant, in my experience the peppers have always been slightly wilted/cooked when served. I also eliminated the orange food coloring because of the health hazards associated with artificial colorings/dyes. If you do not own a wok or deep fryer - simply use a large stock pot with a thick bottom (to evenly distribute and maintain heat), fill the pot with about 4 inches of oil (enough to not only cover the chicken when it's frying, but also allow for it to float in the oil so it does not stick to your pan), bring oil to temperature over medium heat (temperature setting may vary depending upon the type of stove you have, I have a gas range), and most importantly be patient while waiting for the oil to reach the proper temperature (otherwise the batter on the chicken will not crisp up/puff out right and your chicken will be overcooked/dry). I think I will double the amount of salt & pepper in the batter next time as well. My hubby loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States