Sweet-and-Sour Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Loved this. Well balanced between the sweet and sour, and neither overpowering. The cooking tims is just right. The cabbage is done, but still retains some resistance --- it is not mushy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe many times and it always comes out great. it works well with either red or green cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I chopped the apples instead of slicing and added a bit more vinegar to reach the right balance of sweet/sour to suit us. Initially, I thought two apples would be one too many, but when cooked down, that quantity adds the perfect amount of sweetness and texture to this dish. Definitely will be making this again. Thanks Barbara for a delicious new recipe. UPDATE 8.16.11: I watched $10 dinners on the Food Network on Sunday, and Melissa D'Arabian prepared sweet & sour red cabbage that day but "shredded" her apples...much nicer presentation than either chopped or sliced. That's what I'll do the next time. UPDATE 6.4.12: Posted a photo today of how this dish looks with shredded apple (much better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is more delicious than it sounds, although my husband, who doesn't care for anything with vinegar, didn't share my opinion. I, however, have been on a diet and could eat about as much cabbage and apples as I want! LOL! There definitely isn't a need for the bacon fat, and you can cut the oil in half with similar results. I served with (lean) cajun boneless pork chops and microwave ;) baked potatoes. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KY Piano Teacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I use about 1/2# bacon fried, adding onions and the apples and cabbage to simmer..use any type vinegar, and brown sugar, and some cloves and cinnamon to taste. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States