Sweet and Sour Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is filling and good, although a bit bland. I used ground chicken rather than meat to keep it healthier, and shredded cabbage for ease. To up the flavor I sauteed a few cloves of garlic with the onion, and used seasoned salt, Montreal steak seasoning, and smoked paprika to spice it. It works well over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent flavor and so easy to make! Served with Grandma's Polish Perogi recipe from this site, went great together. Can stand to have a little less sugar, would still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttsmom9103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
WOW----------------my family loved it! I doubled the recipe and was so glad - because now we have leftovers. This recipe is easy and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was really tasty. I followed the recipe to the "T"....changed nothing. It was almost like spaghetti made with cabbage instead of pasta. We call it "Sloppy Cabbage Rolls". Next time instead of oats I might add more sauce and some white rice to make it more like cabbage rolls but it was very good as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sturgeon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Given the reviews I wasn't sure if I should double the sauce or not. I ended up making 1 1/2 times what the recipe calls for. I don't think it was necessary after all. I also followed the recommendation and sliced the cabbage into strands rather than use wedges and think that likely works the best. Savoy cabbage wouldn't have been my first choice but it's what I had from my farm share. Next time I will use green cabbage. This had an interesting flavour that I was expecting to taste like sauerbraten but it really didn't. (that works for me) It was also simple to prepare. I served with fried sunchokes. Thanks digb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Anyone who says this is bland and boring is so very wrong and nuts! Or the did not make it correctly. I was a bit skeptical but I was wrong. This was soooooooooo good!! Only things I did different was to use a pint of our canned tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. Our canned tomatoes are cooked down to almost a puree. And I used sweet red pepper instead of green. I sliced the cabbage in strips, too. This is a definite 5 star winner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I loved this! Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Yum! This was sooooo good!!! My hubs said he'd prefer this without the cabbage (he's not a fan), but that's what "makes" this dish. :) Not only is this an economical and hearty meal, it's SUPER easy to throw together! At first glance, I was worried that there wasn't going to be enough sauce, but I was pleasantly surprised. I would NOT suggest doubling it (it would be a waste of ingredients, IMHO). Additionally, I thought about draining my meat, but wanted to follow the recipe as closely as possible so I compromised and only *partially* drained it (I used ground round, btw...). It took the full 20 minutes for my cabbage (which I cut into thin strips) to cook thru. I can't imagine wedges cooking in this amount of time.... My only suggestion to anyone giving this a try is to allow everything to set up for about 5-10 minutes FIRST. If you eat this right away, it will be a bit soupy, but it thickens nicely if you can wait that long! Fried potatoes was the perfect complement to our meal (thanks for suggesting this idea mommyluvs2cook!). All I can say is YUM-O! Thanks for sharing your simple recipe, digb. This is a PERFECT substitute for traditional (but labor-intensive) cabbage rolls! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was delicious!! I made a few changes so it was clean-eating friendly. Used ground turkey instead of beef and brown rice syrup instead of brown sugar. My family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States