Sweet and Sour Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
This is one of my favorite side dishes of all time! It works well in a slow cooker, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Excellent!!! As a male my wife would prefer I not eat beans. "understandable" These tasted great and did not upset my tummy at all. She ask me to fix them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oneida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I love beans, and I love sweet and sour, so I knew this recipe would be good. After I mixed all of the items, I put them in a casserole dish and baked them for a little more than an hour. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I've made a nearly-identical version of this since the 70's and I love it! Everyone seems to. My version doesn't have kidney beans and only calls for 10 slices of bacon. It's still the same...thanks for reminding me of this favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is so delicious - i couldn't stop "testing" it before that 70 mins was up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
We call these Cowboy Beans, I have been making them for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I think this recipe definitely needs some well deserved attention. I ended up keeping them in the crock pot on low for 8 hours, because I didn't read ahead and planned on making it while I was at work. There was the perfect blend of sweet from the brown sugar and sour from the vinegar. I was a bit worried about the lima beans, but they ended up turning out as a creamy delicious bean. I paired it with coleslaw and hot dogs and the guys loved it. These will definitely be made again in our house! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This soooo close to a "mixed bean" recipe I used to impress! However, the carton containig my recipe box mysteriously disappeared as a consequence of my last household move. My feet are securely plantd in my hometown- so what I have will act as a stand-in stuffed cat. The difference b-tween the recipes is jelled cranberry sauce was the ingredient lending it's sweet and tangy taste. No vinegar, no sugar. Fear not! This is an excellent concoction..... Make it........soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I have a very similar recipe that I received from a farm cookbook years ago. It includes a pound of hamburger. It makes an excellent main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My family loved these beans! I'm not a fan of lima beans. The sauce was perfect combination to coat the lina beans. My pickest daughter loved it too! Will definitely be a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States