Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This is one of the best pulled pork recipes I have tried. The only thing missing is the smoke. But since I can't have a smoker, this is my go to recipe. I have tried it with scotch and bourbon, it all works well. You have a hint of the whiskey flavors, but it isn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My family loved this....I add a Sam Adams Pecan Maple beer and crushed Red Peppers. Super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Loved this recipe!! Ate it all week in sandwiches for my lunch. Next time the only thing I'd try different is using apple cider vinegar instead of balsamic (just not a big fan of balsamic is all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was excellent! It was our non-traditional Christmas dinner served over rice and/or as a sandwich on rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. I always think browning the meat before putting in the crockpot make for a better flavor as you get the caramelization and the juices from deglazing. I made a homemade BBQ sauce from scratch that included the seasonings in the dry rub. This is a definite keeper .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I took the advice of a previous reviewer and skipped the prep steps, just dumping all the ingredients in my slow cooker with wonderful results - it makes the house smell wonderful and my husband couldn't believe it had root beer in it! To serve, I bought a long baguette, cut it into 6" sections, cut them open and toasted them for open-faced grinders. Pile the pork on and top with kale sauteed in a bit of garlic, a drizzle of apple butter, with sweet potato fries on the side. Made for a great remake of an amazing grinder we had at a local Chicago tap house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
For an unsmoked pulled pork recipe this is fantastic. There are a lot of steps but I don't think they are a lot of work. You just let the thing sit in the fridge and then sit in the crockpot. Instead of smothering the pork in store bought sauce, I strained the liquid from the crockpot and put it in the fridge overnight so the fat could rise to the top. The next day I scraped the fat off and then put the congeled sauce in a large pan. I added another 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar and 1/2 cup root beer, let it come to a boil and then simmered until reduced into a thick bbq sauce (about 30 minutes). It was fantastic and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Awesome! Just served this as sliders to 10 fussy eaters and they couldn't stop raving! Soaked on Thurs, Rubbed and slowcooked on Fri, and reheated in BBQ sauce on Sat. Not a big deal. Followed the steps exactly. Very tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Thank you for posting this recipe. Great flavor! This recipe brings out pork's own flavor that gets lost if you cook your meat drowned in BBQ sauce. I admit that I took the shortcut from other reviews. Except for the changes below, I used all the ingredients listed. - Skipped marinating, skipped rubbing - Browned the unseasoned roast with oil - Combined all ingredients in pot - Total brown sugar used: 1/4c - Total root beer used: 1-1/2c - Reduced cinnamon to 1/8 tsp - Doubled the whiskey for good measure (Took a sip) - No onion powder on hand... 1/2 large onion dumped in pot - Cooked on low for 8 hours, turning twice. Only added 1/2c mild BBQ sauce at the end, then served with 3 different (mild, hot, Carolina style) sauces on the side for people to choose. Everyone had 2nds and 3rds. Even people with their own smokers wanted the recipe. Sorry to have changed the recipe, but you nailed the seasoning combination. It really is a great, versatile recipe even for a lazy cook like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great recipe! I needed to make pulled pork, but one of our guests had a SERIOUS aversion to barbecue sauce. But I found this recipe, and I didn't need a drop of sauce. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharlajones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States