Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Very very very very very very very very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Excellent and in my case, easy. I didn't have time to marinate and didn't see the point of browning. I was really short on time and I liked the sound of this recipe, so I took the liberty to improvise. I don't keep many dried herbs and spices on hand because I prefer fresh, so I had to make a dry rub out of what I had. Viola, Red Robin season salt had most of the ingredients that were in the rub and I wasn't looking for the the cinnamon flavor. I used Virgil's root beer and Crown Royal, in the liquid. I had some killer BBQ sauce my brother had given us from the south, I only used about a half cup, which was plenty. (2 1/2 lb roast). We ate it for two days, and it was just as good the first day. My husband, who is a pulled pork snob, loved this recipe. Wasn't too thrilled I used his Crown Royal, until he tasted it. Making it again for Mother's Day, not sure if I will marinate or not, it was so good without the extra steps. Each to his own, and I hope I didn't insult anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
love it, I've made it a couple of times now, for family and friends to rave reviews, and an empty pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I was not fond of this recipe. I did not like the root beer flavor. It gave the dish an off flavor. Also, Overall this is a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Well, I haven't actually cooked it yet, but I just wanted to say the spice rub is glorious! I actually put the spice rub recipe in my 'special' cookbook that I reserve for my children when they grow up. All my favorite recipes go into it, and that says something because I'm a serious foodie! Will post my opinion of the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I followed this to the letter, and it was the best pulled pork I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe was awesome. I followed it exactly. I used a sweet and spicy barbecue sauce, to finish it, but it was delicious without it. Next time, I might take some out to use with the sauce it makes, just put the sauce in the fridge, and when it's cold, scoop out the fat accumulated on top. That way, I can have barbecued pulled pork and also, make something entirely different with the original sauce and plain pulled pork. Great spice rub! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is the BEST pulled pork I've ever had or made! I made it according to the recipe and DE-LISH and not to saucey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This is one of the best pulled pork recipes I have tried. The only thing missing is the smoke. But since I can't have a smoker, this is my go to recipe. I have tried it with scotch and bourbon, it all works well. You have a hint of the whiskey flavors, but it isn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My family loved this....I add a Sam Adams Pecan Maple beer and crushed Red Peppers. Super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States