Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly but didn't have any whiskey so that's the only part that got left out. It was a little too sweet for my taste so next time I'll cut back on the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
A friend fixed this & I think it is amazing..So so good.Can't wait to make it myself..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I have used this recipe many times in my catering business simply eliminating the whiskey and adding a small secret spice so I can call it my own. Thank you for the start of a popular dish with my business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have never tried making pulled pork. Last week was my first time. Wow! This was super delicious. I have had pulled pork a hand full of times but never liked it because there was always too much BBQ sauce. This recipe is as it says "sweet and savoury". Follow all of the ingredients to the exact measurement. The only thing I did different was the marinating part. I let the pork sit in in the root beer over night and then it marinated with the dry rub for 3 hours. Do this recipe, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Turned out delicious!! We served it at a Christmas potluck dinner and it was a fav. At first looking at the recipe, it seemed overwhelming but it was actually quite easy to follow once started. We ended up doubling the recipe and used an 11.5 lb pork shoulder (its all the store carried) but it was perfect. For about 30 people, we maybe had 4 servings left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This turned out so delicious and tender, highly recommend! The only modification I made was a boneless pork shoulder trimmed and tied for even cooking. I cooked it for 6 hours, it was 4.3 lbs without the bone. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Amazing! That's all I can say! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
WOW !!! This was really good. I used Dr Pepper (cause that's what the neighbor had - we don't drink soda) didn't used whiskey (used small amount of apple juice in place) and didn't get the chance to let roast sit w/ the dry rub on it - a time issue. So good - for those of you that skip the searing part - don't, it carmelizes the brown sugar mixture and gives it such a great flavor, cant express enough I think it truly adds to the flavor in the meat. So yummy really doesn't need the bbq sauce (made some homemade too). Made some fried rice to accompany - excellent Sunday Football meal ! and the Patriots won - great food great win great Sunday !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Super yummy pulled pork!! Excellent flavor and real tender. I did not sear the meat and I only had regular Coke on hand instead of root beer. I also did not let the meat rest after I applied the rub-another unnecessary step. I purposely did not sear the meat because it is completely unnecessary and an extra step that will give no extra value to the final product. The reason you do not need to sear the meat is that is is being slow cooked in a slow cooker, this cooking method is a moist method. Searing meats are beneficial to dry cooking such as roasting. Had this recipe called for a dry roast I would have seared. There is plenty of liquid that the pork cooks in, and searing it would just be a temporary roadblock for the liquid to penetrate the pork and keep it moist. So searing AND cooking in a slow cooker with liquid is very counter productive. I also cooked mine on low for 6 hours, then high for 3. I think with some tweaking of the directions this recipe would be OUTSTANDING! Ill definitely make again and again, but will not follow the 2 steps mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States