Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
WOW !!! This was really good. I used Dr Pepper (cause that's what the neighbor had - we don't drink soda) didn't used whiskey (used small amount of apple juice in place) and didn't get the chance to let roast sit w/ the dry rub on it - a time issue. So good - for those of you that skip the searing part - don't, it carmelizes the brown sugar mixture and gives it such a great flavor, cant express enough I think it truly adds to the flavor in the meat. So yummy really doesn't need the bbq sauce (made some homemade too). Made some fried rice to accompany - excellent Sunday Football meal ! and the Patriots won - great food great win great Sunday !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Super yummy pulled pork!! Excellent flavor and real tender. I did not sear the meat and I only had regular Coke on hand instead of root beer. I also did not let the meat rest after I applied the rub-another unnecessary step. I purposely did not sear the meat because it is completely unnecessary and an extra step that will give no extra value to the final product. The reason you do not need to sear the meat is that is is being slow cooked in a slow cooker, this cooking method is a moist method. Searing meats are beneficial to dry cooking such as roasting. Had this recipe called for a dry roast I would have seared. There is plenty of liquid that the pork cooks in, and searing it would just be a temporary roadblock for the liquid to penetrate the pork and keep it moist. So searing AND cooking in a slow cooker with liquid is very counter productive. I also cooked mine on low for 6 hours, then high for 3. I think with some tweaking of the directions this recipe would be OUTSTANDING! Ill definitely make again and again, but will not follow the 2 steps mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_whisk

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I tries this recipe for the first time back in early 2012. I have made it probably 7 or 8 times since then and it always turns out amazing! I always follow the directions exactly and I swear its the best pulled pork EVER! There's been 2 times that I didn't have whiskey in the house so I didn't use it those times, but it tasted the same without it. Thanks for the recipe that I will foreer keep in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This was absolutely, hands down, amazing. It IS a lot of work, don't be surprised, but it was worth it. I followed each step exactly, with only two minor deviations. I prepared the shoulder the night before, by following steps 1,2,3,and half of 5. I put the shoulder in the crockpot in the fridge overnight, and mixed the liquid and poured over in the morning when I turned the crockpot on, and I set it to low, since I knew I would be out of the house for 12 hours. I made the mistake of discarding the fat/skin layer, I should have shreded it with the meat. That's the only thing I can think of that would have made this dish better! Not to sweet, which is what I was afraid of, and not vinegary, like most bbq recipes. I used Kraft Honey Hickory smoked BBQ sauce, and it was fantastic. The other half added more to his sandwiches, but I enjoyed it as is. It's a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was best pulled pork recipe I've ever tried. Marinated in rootbeer 24 hrs, then allowed rub to remain for 12 hrs. Prepped over several days but worth the effort! Made this for friends in Colorado during vacation and they loved it too! Will keep recipe and share many times! I added some Bourbon BBQ sauce when making up sandwiches. Excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I followed this exactly up to the part for the sauce going into the crockpot. Boyfriend had drank the rest of the root beer! Diet dr pepper was the closest alternative available, and everything went smoothly from there. The meat was so incredibly tender and flavorful without being really saucy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
everyone loved it! only thing i did different was not marinating overnite, I started it too late. GOOD STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I have done this twice and my kids think it is like candy. My oldest has stated, he could eat this every day! I double this recipe because it is so popular and I just add two 4 lb. shoulders. Do yourself a favor and do not short cut the ingredients. Even if you are concerned about the whiskey or root beer, it adds greatly to the flavor. I will probably make this another half dozen times this year due to demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I stayed pretty much to the recipe. Added more Barbecue sauce than it called for (Bottle and a half of Sweet Baby Ray's Honey Barbecue Sauce). Probably one of the better pulled porks I've had. Thinking this could be adapted to chicken, also. Oh, and I used pork butt rather than the shoulder, so there were no bones to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Very very very very very very very very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States