Sweet and Savory Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
We had this recipe for dinner tonight. It was excellent. I couldn't find the dijon mustard so I used whatever mustard I could find and it was still good. It was more sweet than savory but that was probably due to the honey mustard I had to use. We had it with a small amount of thinly sliced steak on top, but it would have been enough without the meat. This recipe probably would not be for someone who gets grossed out by wilted greens, but kale remains quite crunchy even when wilted so we found it very satisfying. The cranberries and almonds really add to it. I think the only way you could mess this up would be if you cooked the kale too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Well, I have to admit that it was very good. I have never had kale, or any other "southern" type of green. They used to sound kinda gross to me. But, my CSA box sent me a bunch of kale and I wanted to try it one time, to see if I truly did not like it or not. I wanted a simple recipe. This recipe fit the bill perfectly, and it tasted really good too. Way to go Surja! We will be making this again. Only changes will be halving the sugar in half and greatly increasing the dried cranberries. Very easy and quick to make. Make sure the Kale is dried off very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Wow! What a delicious recipe and interesting mix of flavors. My friends and I couldn't get over how delicious this was! We ate it with quinoa, which added a nice nutty grain flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Being southern I love all the leafy green vegetables - my Yankee husband is not accustomed to them - so when he loved this dish I was thrilled. I didn't have enough dried cranberries, so I added a few raisins - other than that I made the recipe just as it was written. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I have never eaten kale in my life, but am making an honest effort to put more leafy greens into my diet. I can see where it may be too sweet for some and it wouldn't hurt to cut out a bit of sugar, but I liked it the way it was too. I added a little bit of chopped ham to make it a one dish meal and I was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOWINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Wonderfully delicious recipe. I subbed honey for the sugar. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I used a one pound bag of kale and did not have cranberries or almonds on hand, do not skip the sugar! This dish had a great flavor. Next time I will add the cranberries and almonds! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Wow! I've never made Kale before and was pleasantly surprised at how tasty this recipe was. I searched the internet for a recipe for Kale and this one appealed to me the most. I did not have dried cranberries and almonds so I left them out and it tasted just fine without them. Thanks for a great recipe and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
The only change I made was 2 tsp. sugar. The next time, no sugar or a little diabetic sugar instead. My husband and I are Diabetic and I am always looking for fresh kale recipes. This is wonderful as written except for the sweetness. Cranberries tho tart are still sweet. This is now one of our favorite kale recipes even reheated next day. Must be the vinegar passion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Delicious! I added a bit more mustard, 1/3 cup pre-sweetened dried cranberries and no sugar. Kale has just become standard fare in my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States