Sweet and Savory Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Needed a bit of extra liquid. Great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great taste! Not familiar with Kale and was really happy with the way it turned out. Just sweet enough even my 4 yr olds liked it. I did leave the almonds out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
One of our favorite ways to enjoy kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great alternative to caldo verde. I saw on PBS that kale has more micronutrients than any other vegetable; so we need more of these tasty recipes using kale. I used 2 tsp of honey in place of the sugar and also used 1/3 cup dried cranberries. My cooking times were about half as long as in the recipe; I judged based on the colour of the onions and the amount of liquid reduction. To me, the cider vinegar is the key ingredient that should not be substituted; it adds the right combination of tanginess and sweetness. I also think adding a touch of heat, like chili flakes, would make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious! I did not add any sugar or cranberries because I am following an clean eating diet plan. Guess what?? It had a sweet flavor without them! I also used spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon. Maybe it was that or the apple cider that sweetened it?? Either way, this is going into my veggie rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
A little too sweet - maybe less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I loved this, I took others advice and only used 1 cup of broth and did not add any sugar, it was sweet enough. I've made it 3 times and used dried cranberries, tart cherries, and prunes, so any dried fruit will work. Also, there is no way this makes 6 servings, more like 3 small or 2 large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I cut the broth to 1 c. omitted the sugar and cooked the kale with golden raisins (I didnt' have cranberries) for 10 minutes. Love this dish and make it every time I get kale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very easy. Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
First time I actually enjoyed kale. Now I will give kale a chance more, thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allenwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States