Sweet and Savory Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great taste! Not familiar with Kale and was really happy with the way it turned out. Just sweet enough even my 4 yr olds liked it. I did leave the almonds out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
One of our favorite ways to enjoy kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great alternative to caldo verde. I saw on PBS that kale has more micronutrients than any other vegetable; so we need more of these tasty recipes using kale. I used 2 tsp of honey in place of the sugar and also used 1/3 cup dried cranberries. My cooking times were about half as long as in the recipe; I judged based on the colour of the onions and the amount of liquid reduction. To me, the cider vinegar is the key ingredient that should not be substituted; it adds the right combination of tanginess and sweetness. I also think adding a touch of heat, like chili flakes, would make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious! I did not add any sugar or cranberries because I am following an clean eating diet plan. Guess what?? It had a sweet flavor without them! I also used spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon. Maybe it was that or the apple cider that sweetened it?? Either way, this is going into my veggie rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
A little too sweet - maybe less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I loved this, I took others advice and only used 1 cup of broth and did not add any sugar, it was sweet enough. I've made it 3 times and used dried cranberries, tart cherries, and prunes, so any dried fruit will work. Also, there is no way this makes 6 servings, more like 3 small or 2 large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I cut the broth to 1 c. omitted the sugar and cooked the kale with golden raisins (I didnt' have cranberries) for 10 minutes. Love this dish and make it every time I get kale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very easy. Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
First time I actually enjoyed kale. Now I will give kale a chance more, thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allenwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Best kale recipe I've found yet - my husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Kale

Learn all about this super healthy veggie.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States