Sweet and Savory Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Absolutely the best Kale recipe I've ever tried, and I've tried a lot of ways to eat this super green since it's packed with nutrients. I have to say savory is the perfect word to use for the finished dish. My husband and I enjoyed this so much we're going to make it again tonight! The only changes I made were using spicy brown mustard instead of dijon (b/c we didnt have any dijon) and no almonds, other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I agree with Heidi....I got only 1 serving out of this as well. It was the most salty/sweet combo type of food I've ever eaten, even though I never got around to adding salt or pepper. It was also very chewy.... like to the point of "beef". I didn't like that part of it... It made me feel like I was eating tough weeds. I actually liked the flavor of it while eating it but I like extremely salty foods. The sweetness cut it just the right amount. I give it 2 stars because I'd like to try it again but will have to tweak it quite a bit. I think the "4 cups" of Kale was a typo..... maybe it should have been 14 cups or 4 quarts of Kale. I have know idea how one could get 6 servings out of this unless you consider "2 tablespoons" a complete serving. Really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is the first highly rated recipe I've tried that didn't really measure up for me. I followed the recipe exactly except I halved the sugar as others suggested, and it was still too sweet. I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotsauce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I really liked this recipe! I, too made some changes- reduced the sugar to 1 tsp (I may leave it out next time- don't think it really even needed it), left out the onion b/c I didn't have any and added extra garlic. I also followed another reviewers recommendation and reduced the liquid before adding the kale so it wasn't too mushy. I gave it 4 stars because of all the tweaking, but I did like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I cut the sugar in half and it still tasted like candied veggies. I did like it, and will make it again, but will cut the sugar to 1 tsp. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I had never cooked kale before but wanted something that would go together with my chicken breasts that were sautéed in marsala wine and on the sweet side. This kale recipe was amazing and very unusual. My family all agreed it was v good and I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I followed this to a t and came up with one serving, not six. I have a family to feed here. Delicious and nutritious and all, but not satisfying when you have more then one mouth to feed. Or even two for that matter. 4 stars. Lost half a stat for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. It tastes delicious and it's so easy and quick to make. I had a huge bag of Kale (prewashed and chopped) in my fridge and wanted to use it. This recipe was perfect. I ate this dish for dinner just by itself. I followed the recommendation of other reviewers and only used 2 tsp of sugar. Maybe one would be enough too, because the cranberries add sweetness. Thank you so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is delicious and I replaced the white sugar with brown, and the apple vinegar with plum vinegar! A big hit at brunch paired with a vegetable egg torte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
The flavor is great without the added sugar. The dried cranberries (or craisins) add lots of sweetness. I also substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth. Balances really well with rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States