Sweet and Savory Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Awesome! We are not big kale eaters, but it comes in our produce co-op fairly frequently, and this is our go-to recipe to make it chow down-able! It's delicious as written. I tweak a few amounts to make it easier to remember: 1 T sugar (so it's 1T of each), 1 can of chicken broth (about 1 3/4 cups), and I also double or triple the garlic according to the conventional wisdom of a wise Italian woman I know. :) Thanks for transforming kale for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
The basic recipe is good, especially for folks who find the kale flavor too strong for their taste. I cut the sugar in half and still found it too sweet. I also felt the mustard was overwhelming--next time I will cut it in half too. I always throw the stems in with onions and garlic to saute them and then let them cook until they are soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I used baby kale and cut the sugar. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time this Thanksgiving and it was great. It really went well with a turkey dinner. It was very flavourful and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Not bad! This was my first time eating kale and I'd be willing to make it again. I'm not a veggie lover, so the fact that I couldn't taste the kale was key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
What a mediocre recipe! First off, it makes 6 servings? This makes enough for 2 servings of about half a cup. Yes...kale wilts down a lot folks. Also, the ingredients just seemed thrown together. Cranberries were odd, though not exactly awful, and the almonds added nothing. This is closer to a forty minute dish. There are simply better kale recipes out there that are just as easy. I won't make this again, and don't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Yes - I cut the sugar to 3 Tbsp. and added a handful of bacon bits (Hormel) - gave it a more home style flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The tart and sweetness are perfect to offset a more savory dish. I substitute vegetable broth for the chicken broth to make it a vegetarian option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This has become a quick and simple staple in my house. I play a little fast and loose with the ingredients based on what's available...but LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danika Shipman
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This recipe is to die for. First time my husband ever had kale in his life and absolutely LOVED THIS! I used a Honey & Balsamic dijon mustard for a slight kick in taste. Here is where this took 1st place.... I added red, yellow and orange peppers after I sauteed them for a bit and added so much flavor and made it look beautiful to serve! This is one of my favorite recipes on here! A MUST TRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danika Shipman
Home Town: Edwardsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pottsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States