Sweet and Savory Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I'm not a fan of kale, but my 19 yo made this for dinner one night (leaving out the cranberries, almonds and onions due to allergies) and I loved it. Not only did I love it, but I had thirds and four of my other daughters (ages 10, 9, 7 and 4) also had seconds and thirds! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe makes greens edible. I have used Kale and collards. Both work just as well. I only use 2tsp of sugar, otherwise I use as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I liked the combination of almonds with kale, but I found the overall recipe too sweet for my tastes. The leftovers on day 2 were better since the flavors had a chance to mellow out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
A little too sweet for me, and too juicy, but that might have been because of hsie I made it: I didn't have the exact ingredients called for a few times, and just made do. If there were going to be a next time, I might cut the sugar entirely. I was skeptical of the value of using golden over dark raisins, but I must admit, they were a nice touch. A lot of different consistancies going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a very tasty recipe, and the combination of sweet and sour was perfect. Be sure to cook it long enough, as it will be "chewy" if you don't. My husband didn't like it, but he is notoriously picky. I think spinich would be better, but kale is really good for you. Bacon would add extra flavor, but also extry calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Great combination of flavors...I added a can of chopped tomatoes and served it over pasta...yummy dinner that is fast and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I've tried many recipes for Kale and this is my favorite. Reminds me of a sweet and sour cabbage my mother made that was her signature recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good recipe. I actually cooked the kale for about 15 minutes longer than what the recipe stated making it less chewy and more "mushy." But that's just my taste. I also subbed pecans for almonds. Thanks for this easy, tasty recipe. Now I can get my family to eat more greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great tasting and easy. Will do what some suggested next time and cut the sugar in half, no need for that much as the dried cranberries have sugar in them. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
very good recipe, maybe a tad on the too sweet side. Kids liked the flavor but the dark green color was very unappealing. Too bad the kale is too tough still when it turns that beautiful emerald color briefly before turning an ugly dark green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States