Sweet and Savory Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is SO delicious!! My husband is not a big fan of vegetables, but he asked for seconds of this. It is the perfect combination of sweet and savory, and, BONUS - you are getting the benefits of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I made this almost doubling the kale and used 3tsps of sugar. I slightly increased all the other ingredients to adjust for the added kale. When I first tasted it, I thought it was great, but after eating a portion of it, I felt kind of sick from the sweetness. Which is strange since I have such a sweet tooth, I thought it would be perfect for me. The next day it was not good at all. the sweetness had intensified and I couldn't eat it. I will try making it again maybe cutting out the sugar all together, and reducing the cranberries. My husband thought it was much too sweet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I recently bought some kale for the first time and was looking for a way to prepare it and this recipe stood out and I'm so glad it did! This recipe is super easy, not too time consuming, and super tasty. My husband, who really isn't one for vegetables, and I both just loved it and Kale is now going to be a regular part of my weekly shopping trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Even my pickiest child ate this. I used in-season, organic kale. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Leiper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe is a winner with everyone! I added horseradish mustard and subbed toasted pine nuts for the almonds. I also added more vinegar. I make this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I'm not a fan of kale, but my 19 yo made this for dinner one night (leaving out the cranberries, almonds and onions due to allergies) and I loved it. Not only did I love it, but I had thirds and four of my other daughters (ages 10, 9, 7 and 4) also had seconds and thirds! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe makes greens edible. I have used Kale and collards. Both work just as well. I only use 2tsp of sugar, otherwise I use as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I liked the combination of almonds with kale, but I found the overall recipe too sweet for my tastes. The leftovers on day 2 were better since the flavors had a chance to mellow out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
A little too sweet for me, and too juicy, but that might have been because of hsie I made it: I didn't have the exact ingredients called for a few times, and just made do. If there were going to be a next time, I might cut the sugar entirely. I was skeptical of the value of using golden over dark raisins, but I must admit, they were a nice touch. A lot of different consistancies going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a very tasty recipe, and the combination of sweet and sour was perfect. Be sure to cook it long enough, as it will be "chewy" if you don't. My husband didn't like it, but he is notoriously picky. I think spinich would be better, but kale is really good for you. Bacon would add extra flavor, but also extry calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States