Sweet and Savory Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a very tasty recipe, and the combination of sweet and sour was perfect. Be sure to cook it long enough, as it will be "chewy" if you don't. My husband didn't like it, but he is notoriously picky. I think spinich would be better, but kale is really good for you. Bacon would add extra flavor, but also extry calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Great combination of flavors...I added a can of chopped tomatoes and served it over pasta...yummy dinner that is fast and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I've tried many recipes for Kale and this is my favorite. Reminds me of a sweet and sour cabbage my mother made that was her signature recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good recipe. I actually cooked the kale for about 15 minutes longer than what the recipe stated making it less chewy and more "mushy." But that's just my taste. I also subbed pecans for almonds. Thanks for this easy, tasty recipe. Now I can get my family to eat more greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great tasting and easy. Will do what some suggested next time and cut the sugar in half, no need for that much as the dried cranberries have sugar in them. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
very good recipe, maybe a tad on the too sweet side. Kids liked the flavor but the dark green color was very unappealing. Too bad the kale is too tough still when it turns that beautiful emerald color briefly before turning an ugly dark green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I give this 4 stars because I thought it was fantastic, my husband, however, thought it was too vinegary. I will try again with less vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Wow! This was really good. I'm a Yankee living here in the South and I'm not too crazy about a lot of Southern food. But I do love kale. I usually add some to my salad from the salad bar at Whole Food's. I finally broke down and bought some but wasn't sure what to do with it. I made the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Tasty recipe; excellent side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was my first time making Kale. I did lower the sugar and left out the almonds (b/c I didn't have any). I used frozen diced onion and minced garlic. I though it was pretty good. I probably would not have given it 5 stars (probably 4) except for the fact that my 2 yr old and 5 yr old ATE IT. My 5 yr old even asked for more. I almost fell over. If toddlers eat this, it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

All about Kale

Learn all about this super healthy veggie.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States