Sweet and Savory Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I thought this was delicious, but with my experience cooking Kale I did add a couple of things, and I changed the chicken stock to vegetable stock for a vegetarian dish. I added some red chili flakes to the onion and garlic, and then grated fresh nutmeg after adding the Kale. I think Kale always needs some citrus, so I squeezed fresh orange juice at the end. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Love this recipe! I have made it multiple times, but with some modifications. I use spicy mustard instead of dijon, red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar, and 1/4 cup of preserves (usually strawberry or raspberry) instead of dried cranberries. I also usually leave out the almonds unless I have them around. It is a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Made this recipe last night and it was a hit. Kale is something we are adding to our diet since it is such a healthy vegetable. Followed the recipe exactly and my husband and I were very pleased. Delicious and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Tasty and quick with ingredients I have on hand. Love that! Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is very flavorful and tasty! I didn't have dijon so I used yellow mustard and used walnuts instead of almonds. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Fairbanks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I hate hate hate kale. I only eat it because I know its good for me. HOWEVER... this recipe has given me a different opinion on this nasty, curley leaf. I think I may have started to appreciate it. Well done. Good recipe. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe closely, even using more kale than called for. With the temperatures and times called for, it was reduced to about a cup and a half of green mush in the bottom of the pot. I won't try it again--certainly not in accordance with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
WAY too much mustard and vinegar-ish tasting! e.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Kale is a superfood* but most nutrients are destroyed in this cooking method. "Healthy steam" the Kale and add at the very end. It turns out chewier but if you're going to eat it, you might as well get the most out of it. *Kale is one of the healthiest vegetables around and one way to be sure to enjoy the maximum nutrition and flavor from kale is to cook it properly. It's recommended to Healthy Steam kale for 5 minutes. To ensure quick and even cooking cut the leaves into 1/2" slices and the stems into 1/4" lengths. Let them sit for at least 5 minutes to enhance their health-promoting qualities before steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Absolutely loved it! Followed it to a T & was perfect. Next time I will use 1 less tsp of sugar. That's bc it was a tad too sweet for me however my husband loved it! Best kale recipe. Didn't need to substitute or change like some of other recipes. Def 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States